Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/21/2021 06:14:39

Sponsor 743
August 15
Volunteer Speedway,
Bulls Gap, TN
Sanction: Unsanctioned special events (King of the Gap) - $4,000
Information provided by: Richard Allen and Robert Walden (last updated August 16, 7:56 am)
Hickman pockets $4,000 at Volunteer
King of the Gap
  1. Riley Hickman
  2. Ronnie Johnson
  3. Jason Cardwell
  4. Stanley Donahoo
  5. Jason Welshan
  6. Jamie Perry
  7. Billy Ogle Jr.
  8. Ryan King
  9. Anthony White
  10. Brad Lowe
  11. Ross White
  12. Jason Manley
  13. Trevor Sise
  14. Josh Collins
  15. Ruben Mayfield
  16. Josh Henry
  17. Matt Henderson
  18. Greg Estes
  19. Jason Trammell
  20. Cory Hedgecock
  21. Steve Smith
  22. Jensen Ford
  23. Heath Hindman
  24. Mark Martin
presented by
Thomas Hendrickson/dt52photos.com
Winner Riley Hickman with race promoter Vic Hill in victory lane.
What won the race: Going to the lead after a lap-16 scramble that knocked out leader Jason Trammell and second-running Cory Hedgecock, third-starting Riley Hickman of Ooltewah, Tenn., grabbed a $4,000 victory in the Steel Head Championship at Volunteer. Hickman beat Ronnie Johnson and Jason Cardwell to the checkers at the high-banked oval.
Quotable: “We had a good car, but if both Trammell and Hedgecock didn’t have trouble would I have won? You never know, because I believe during a long green-flag run when we all got to racing lapping cars, then the lapped traffic was going to make things interesting," Hickman said. "I guess we were quite lucky to have not gotten caught up in their deal."
Key notes: Polesitter and fast qualifier Jason Trammell led the first 16 laps, but on a restart, a broken suspension piece apparently punctured Trammell's fuel cell. Second-running Cory Hedgecock and Matt Henderson spun in the fuel dumped on the track. A red-flag cleanup was required; Trammell and Hedgecock were done for the night with Hickman restarting up front. ... The next most significant caution came out on lap 38 when Josh Henry got into the turn-four wall after getting a flat tire; the slower Henry and second-running Ronnie Johnson made contact in turn one as the leaders worked lapped traffic. ... Billy Ogle Jr. is drove the car (a former Ogle ride) owned by Mark Leach, whose daughter Izzi died in a drowning accident last month. ... Chris Chandler scratched from the feature; Greg Estes took his spot. ... Other drivers failing to make the starting field: Bryan Shockley, Johnnin Ridings, Zeke Buchanan, Dakotah Knuckles, Greg Martin and Kenny Collins. ... Forrest Trent won the Crate Late Model feature, leading all the way. ... Volunteer hosts the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series on Aug. 21.
On the move: Ronnie Johnson started fifth and finished second.
Winner's sponsors: Hickman's CVR Race Car is powered by a Vic Hill Racing Engine with sponsorship from Hickman Manufacturing, MRC Racing Components, American Billet, Tucker Mobile Home Service, VP Racing Fuels, Allstar Graphics and RH Designs.
Car count: 31
Fast qualifier: Jason Trammell
Time: 13.176 seconds
Polesitter: Jason Trammell
Consolation race winners: Anthony White
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728