Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/02/2022 07:28:37

Sponsor 743
October 12
Talladega Short Track,
Eastaboga, AL
Sanction: Southern All Star Series (B.J. Parker Memorial) - $4,200
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated October 13, 7:31 pm)
Hiett survives SAS finale for $4,200 victory
B.J. Parker Memorial
  1. Jason Hiett
  2. Jackson Hale
  3. Dillon Tidmore
  4. Jadon Frame
  5. Ashton Winger
  6. David Breazeale
  7. Todd Morrow
  8. Josh Putnam
  9. Ronnie Johnson
  10. Dallas Cooper
  11. Billy Franklin
  12. Tim Roszell
  13. Mark Dodson
  14. Sam Seawright
  15. Matthew Turner
  16. Tim Busha
  17. Casey Turman
  18. Heath Hindman
  19. Dustin Mincey
  20. Riley Hickman
  21. Terry Smith
  22. Josh Adkins
  23. Matt Dooley
  24. Christian Hanger
presented by
What won the race: Surviving two wrecks in a damaged car, polesitter Jason Hiett of Oxford, Ala., earned a $4,200 home-track victory for capturing the Southern All Star finale at Talladega Short Track as David Breazeale wrapped up the tour title during Talladega’s NASCAR weekend. Hiett officially led every lap of the B.J. Parker Memorial.
Quotable: “We got tangled up there and spun and messed the front end up, so we were struggling,” Hiett said of the first start when he spun in turn one. “I knew when we got to lapped traffic it was going to be tough to get around. … all in all, to have the car tore up like and to be able to (win) is just unbelievable."
Key notes: Hiett's damaged car was restored to the pole after his turn-one spin on the initial start. ... When Hiett was trying to put a lap on Matthew Turner mid-race, Dillon Tidmore went around the leadrt just as Hiett and Turner made contact exiting turn two. Turner spun to the inside and Hiett spun to the outside, but officials again restored Hiett to the top spot for the restart. ... Jackson Hale wrested the second spot from Tidmore on the ensuing restart. ... A dozen cars completed 42 laps. ... Christian Hanger was disqualified. ... The event honored the late series founder who formed the SAS in 1983.
Winner's sponsors: Hiett's Richard Austin-owned Capital Race Car is sponsored by Josh Roberts Trucking, VP Fuel and Roberts Repair.
Points chase: David Breazeale (1,288 points) of Four Corners, Miss., unofficially wrapped up the series championship.
Car count: 30
Fast qualifier: JasonĀ Hiett
Time: 13.644 seconds
Polesitter: JasonĀ Hiett
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728