Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/28/2023 03:15:25

Sponsor 743
August 13
Carolina Speedway,
Gastonia, NC
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series (Shrine 100) - $3,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated August 14, 7:06 am)
Franklin captures third straight Shrine Race
Shrine 100
  1. Dennis Franklin
  2. Johnny Pursley
  3. Jonathan Davenport
  4. Kennie Compton Jr.
  5. Kyle Pierce
  6. Dustin Mitchell
  7. Scott Shirey
  8. Kevin Wilson
  9. Ben Watkins
  10. Brian Ledbetter
  11. Anthony Sanders
  12. Kevin Godwin
  13. Aaron Ridley
  14. Luke Roffers
  15. Jonathan Edwards
  16. Ross Bailes
  17. Brandon Overton
  18. Zack Mitchell
  19. Justin Labonte
  20. Chris Ferguson
  21. Doug Sanders
  22. Robbie Bailey
  23. Jeff Smith
presented by
Zackery Kloosterman/ZSK Photography
Dennis Franklin celebrates his fifth career Shrine 100 victory.
What won the race: Fourth-starting Dennis "Rambo" Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., inherited the lead from polesitter Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., on lap 23 when Davenport slowed with a flat right-rear tire. Franklin led the remaining distance for his third straight Shrine 100 victory. He collected a $3,000 payday.
Key notes: Franklin has five career Shrine Race victories and is tied with Ricky Weeks on the Carolina Clash all-time win list with 35 career series victories. ... The 30-lap event was slowed by four cautions. ... A yellow flew on lap eight for Justin Labonte of Trinity, N.C. ... Ross Bailes of Clover, S.C. drew a lap-12 caution. Brandon Overton of Appling, Ga., slowed and pulled into the pits under the yellow. ... Another yellow flew on lap 23 for Davenport. He rejoined the field in 11th. ... Anthony Sanders of Spartanburg, S.C., drew a caution on the ensuing restart with a flat tire. ... A red flag flew on lap 24 for Sanders, who rolled his No. 421 after a hard hit to the turn-one wall; he emerged from the car uninjured, but the car was destroyed. "We'll be back," he tweeted. ... Chris Ferguson of Mount Holly, N.C., retired early after completing seven laps. ... The 42nd annual Gaston County Shrine Benefit Race is a fund-raiser for the Oasis Shrine Club for Children. ... The event is the final regular-season event for the Carolina Clash before the tour's Countdown to the Cup Championship Chase begins Saturday at Lancaster (S.C.) Motor Speedway.
On the move: Davenport rallied from the tail of the field to finish third after drawing a lap 23 caution. Kennie Compton Jr. of Bland, Va., charged from the 15th starting spot to finish fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Franklin's Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements Automotive Racing Engine is sponsored by Advanced Electronic Services, AES Racing, C&D Properties and M&W Towing.
Points chase: Entering the event, Kennie Compton Jr. of Bland, Va., had 272 points to lead Kyle Pierce (252).
Car count: 24
Fast qualifier: Jonathan Davenport
Time: 15.433 seconds
Polesitter: Jonathan Davenport
Next series race: August 16, Lancaster Speedway (Lancaster, SC) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information