Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/21/2024 05:56:01

Sponsor 743
October 4
Greenville Speedway,
Greenville, MS
Sanction: Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series (Gumbo Nationals ) - $4,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated October 8, 3:58 pm)
Cooley collects Greenville's Gumbo opener
Gumbo Nationals
  1. Eric Cooley
  2. Chad Thrash
  3. Mike Palasini Jr.
  4. Brian Rickman
  5. B.J. Robinson
  6. Jonathan Rowan
  7. Neil Baggett
  8. Dane Dacus
  9. Doug Showah
  10. David Breazeale
  11. Rick Rickman
  12. Seth Reed
  13. Justin Paxton
  14. Doug Sanchagrin
  15. Derrick Nichols
  16. Bubba Harrison
  17. Shelby Sheedy
  18. Jamey Boland
  19. Jason Michau
  20. Robert Baker
  21. William Sykes
  22. Brett White
  23. Jon Mitchell
  24. Jeremy Broadus
presented by
Eric Cooley earned $4,000 in the Gumbo Nationals prelims.
What won the race: After turning back repeated sliders from Chad Thrash following a mid-race restart, second-starting Eric Cooley of Fulton, Miss., pulled away in traffic over the final laps to win Friday’s Gumbo Nationals opener at Greenville Speedway. Cooley earned $4,000 for his second career Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series victory, while Thrash, a five-time winner this season, settled for second.
Quotable: “I could hear somebody back there. I knew as long as I could keep my line and keep straight I had really good drive off there I felt like,” Cooley said. “Just as long as I hit my marks, I knew it’d be hard to pass … just top dominant. Chad (and I), we threw a couple of sliders back and forth on that restart there and I knew if I could get my run off I could drive back by him … turn left and drive back by.”
Key notes: Cooley’s previous MSCCS victory came Aug. 27, 2016 at Magnolia Motor Speedway in Columbus, Miss. … The race was slowed by two cautions. … Polesitter Jon Mitchell of Texarkana, Texas, brought out the second caution when he slowed, giving up the fifth position. … Third-starting Robert Baker of Bryant, Ark., relinquished third when he pitted on lap 30 with his car trailing smoke. … Thrash stayed within five car lengths in the waning laps, but twice banged his right rear off the turn one wall in the final five laps to hamper his effort. … This is the 13th annual Gumbo Nationals. … Two separate programs are on tap, with an $8,000-to-win main event Saturday to go along with Friday's opener, which marked the third MSCCS race at Greenville this season. … Mike Palasini Jr. of Leland, Miss., and Rick Rickman of Columbus, Miss., were the winners of the tour’s two previous stops at Greenville.
On the move: Jonathan Rowan of Whiteville, Tenn., started 16th and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Cooley’s Rocket Chassis is powered by a Jeff Burns Racing Engine and sponsored by Cooley Transport, 78 Towing & Recovery, Eric Cooley Trucking, Bryson Motorsports and Tri-State Truck Center.
Points chase: Through Sept. 7, Chad Thrash (1,600 points) of Meridian, Miss., led Shelby Sheedy (1,250), Doug Sanchagrin (1,210), Terry Wilson (1,200) and Rick Rickman (1,150).
Current weather: Clear, 74°F
Car count: 24
Fast qualifier: Jon Mitchell
Polesitter: Jon Mitchell
Heat race winners: Jon Mitchell, Robert Baker, Eric Cooley, Mike Palasini Jr.
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Mitchell, Cooley
Row 2: Baker, Palasini Jr.
Row 3: Rickman, Broadus
Row 4: Thrash, Dacus
Row 5: Baggett, Edwards
Row 6: Breazeale, White
Row 7: Robinson, Paxton
Row 8: Rickman, Rowan
Row 9: Sheedy, Nichols
Row 10: Boland, Reed
Row 11: Harrison, Sanchagrin
Row 12: Sykes, Michall
Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information