Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/28/2023 04:11:17

Sponsor 743
August 9
Greenville Speedway,
Greenville, MS
Sanction: Crate Racin’ USA (Rumble on the Gumbo 50) - $2,500
Information provided by: Roby Helm (last updated August 11, 2:20 pm)
R.J. tops wild NeSmith stop at Greenville
Rumble on the Gumbo 50
  1. Ronnie Johnson
  2. Marcus Minga
  3. Chase Washington
  4. Peter Hazzard
  5. Michael Blount
  6. Sid Scarbrough
  7. Brent Barrett
  8. James Andrews
  9. Johnny Stokes
  10. Ashley Newman
  11. Neil Baggett
  12. Nathan Mayes
  13. Dewayne Estes
  14. Chase Edge
  15. Hunter Carroll
  16. Tyler Arnold
  17. Mark Tice
  18. Peyton Wilkerson
  19. Mike Palasini Jr.
  20. Jason Botsford
  21. Ryan Colby
  22. Chris Noah
  23. John Polasini
  24. Kenny Carpenter
presented by
What won the race: Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., inherited the lead on lap 37 of the 50-lap event when a multi-car tangle on a restart sent early leader Johnny Stokes of Columbus, Miss., to the pits with a cut-down right-rear tire. Despite heavy left-side damage and his own tire losing air, Johnson held on to drive the NeSmith Chevrolet Special to the 24th NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series victory of his career.
Quotable: "This was a win by default tonight because I wasn’t that good at the start of the race, but the car got better as the race went on,” Johnson said. “Johnny Stokes was the man to beat tonight, and it’s a shame he got caught up in that restart wreck. He got sideways in front of me and I tried to swerve to get around him, but everybody just ran into everybody.”
Key notes: Johnson’s seventh win of the season also ties him with David Earl Gentry of Murfreesboro, Tenn., for the most wins in a single season on the tour. Gentry won seven races in 2006. ... Michael Blount of Sumrall, Miss., turned in his best finish of the season with a fifth-place effort. ... Brent Barrett of Cleveland, Miss., was the last car on the lead lap at the checkered flag, placing seventh. ... The high attrition in the race saw Stokes finish ninth, nine laps down, while Ashley Newman of Ripley, Tenn., finished 10th after completing 40 laps. ... Kenny Carpenter of Cleveland, Miss., tagged the third turn wall on lap eight and then rode on top of it before executing a slow roll and coming to rest on the car’s roof to bring out the red flag. He wasn't injured. ... Nine caution flags slowed the race.
On the move: Marcus Minga of Shannon, Miss., scored his career-best NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series finish of second after starting 22nd. After surviving the lap-37 restart tangle, Minga challenged Johnson for the lead late but settled for his second-straight top-four finish on the tour.
Winner's sponsors: Johnson's MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by Appleton Power Rack & Pinions, FG Lumber, Hoosier Tire, NeSmith Chevrolet, Smith Competition Fire Systems and VP Racing Fuels.
Points chase: Ronnie Johnson extended his lead in the standings to 214 points over rookie Chris Noah of Rainbow City, Ala. Johnson could miss two of the final five races of the 2014 season and still own the point lead.
Current weather: Partly Cloudy, 77°F
Car count: 28
Fast qualifier: Johnny Stokes
Time: 15.122 seconds
Polesitter: Johnny Stokes
Consolation race winners: Peter Hazzard, Chris Noah
Next series race: August 30, Arkadelphia Speedway (Bremen, AL) $2,500
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information