Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/21/2021 06:11:59

Sponsor 743
August 8
Jackson Motor Speedway,
Byram, MS
Sanction: Crate Racin’ USA (River Rumble 40) - $2,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated August 9, 10:50 am)
Johnson earns $2,000 in River Rumble 40
River Rumble 40
  1. Ronnie Johnson
  2. Jason Cliburn
  3. Chase Edge
  4. Marcus Minga
  5. Cliff Williams
  6. Chris Noah
  7. Cliff Ross
  8. Jimmy Cliburn
  9. Brent Barrett
  10. Hunter Carroll
  11. Richie Beasley
  12. Tyler Burgess
  13. Tyler Hudson
  14. Jake Knight
  15. Neil Baggett
  16. Steve Bynum
  17. Kody Barber
  18. Jered Smith
  19. Sid Scarbrough
  20. Doug Sanchagrin
  21. Henry Cooper
  22. Chase Washington
  23. Michael Blount
  24. Johnny Stokes
presented by
What won the race: Second-starting Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., raced to his sixth NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series victory of the season in the River Rumble 40. The Dirt Late Model Hall of Famer and series points leader led every lap and pocketed $2,000.
Quotable: “The car wasn’t very good in hot laps, so we made some adjustments and that made the car good for the rest of the night,” Johnson said. “This race car has been good to us this season, so we haven’t done much to it. When a race car is as good as this one, you tend to just leave it alone.”
Key notes: Johnson's margin of victory was 5.189 seconds over high-running Jason Cliburn of Star, Miss., who damaged his rear spoiler with his wall-scraping run. ... Polesitter Chris Noah of Rainbow City, Ala., faded over the second half of the race to finish sixth. ... Eleven drivers finished on the lead lap of the 40-lap race, which was slowed by four cautions and took just shy of 37 minutes to complete. ... Henry Cooper (lap two) and Doug Sanchagrin (lap 19) each spun to draw cautions. ... Jake Knight hit the turn-three wall for a lap-29 yellow. ... Richie Beasley and Neil Baggett tangled on the backstretch for the final caution. ... The tour made its lone visit of the season to Jackson. ... The event opened a weekend doubleheader for the series.
On the move: After winning a consolation race, Cliburn advanced from 12th to finish second; Cliff Ross of Florence, Miss., came from 16th to finish seventh.
Winner's sponsors: Johnson's MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by Appleton Power Rack & Pinions, FG Lumber, Hoosier Tire, NeSmith Chevrolet, Smith Competition Fire Systems and VP Racing Fuels.
Points chase: Johnson extended his points lead over Noah, the tour's top rookie, with the victory. Only six races remain on NeSmith's 2014 campaign.
Car count: 28
Fast qualifier: Chris Noah
Time: 15.962 seconds
Polesitter: Chris Noah
Consolation race winners: Johnny Stokes, Jason Cliburn
Next series race: August 9, Greenville Speedway (Greenville, MS) $2,500
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728