Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/28/2023 03:19:25

Sponsor 743
August 8
Kankakee County Speedway,
Kankakee, IL
Sanction: Sunoco American Late Model Series West (Land of Lincoln Clash 40) - $2,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated August 10, 2:43 pm)
Spatola collects $2,000 ALMS victory at Kankakee
Land of Lincoln Clash 40
  1. Mike Spatola
  2. Jay Morris
  3. Brandon Thirlby
  4. Skip Douglas
  5. Allen Murray
  6. Pete Parker
  7. Phil Ausra
  8. Glen Thompson
  9. Mike Marden
  10. Doug Hayes
  11. Scott Schmitt
  12. Bobby Pierce
  13. Rich Bell
  14. Rusty Schlenk
  15. Torin Mettille
  16. Steve Dimmick
  17. Chad Osterhoff
  18. Don Hilleary
  19. Luke Gash
  20. Joe Brown
presented by
Steve Datema
Kankakee winner Mike Spatola picked up $2,000.
What won the race: Track points leader Mike Spatola of Manhattan, Ill., outran Jay Morris of Pittwood, Ill., and Brandon Thirlby of Traverse City, Mich., to collect $2,000 for his fourth career Sunoco American Late Model Series victory in the Land of Lincoln Clash 40.
Key notes: Spatola notched his third victory of the season at Kankakee. ... A flat right-rear tire knocked Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., out of contention. ... Kevin Weaver of Gibson City, Ill., scratched from the feature after a rollover accident in heat action; he wasn't injured. ... The event was for ALMS East and West points. ... The series is made its 10th visit to Kankakee and opened a two-race weekend in Illinois.
On the move: Brandon Thirlby of Traverse City, Mich., finished third after starting 10th.
Winner's sponsors: Spatola's No. 89 Warrior Race Car has a Rhyne Competition Engine and carries sponsorship from Action Suspension, Allstar Performance, Big Daddy Scrap, Fast Shafts, Fastlane Wraps, Modern Carriage Werks Inc., Steve's Performance and T&S Heating, Cooling and Refrigeration.
Points chase: Entering Kankakee, Thirlby held the ALMS East points lead, while Pierce sat atop the ALMS West standings.
Car count: 24
Fast qualifier: Bobby Pierce
Time: 13.818 seconds
Heat race winners: Ryan Unzicker, Mike Spatola, Allen Murray
Next series race: August 29, Farmer City Raceway (Farmer City, IL) $3,000
Editor's note: Fixes winning purse to $2,000 sted $3,000.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information