Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/28/2023 04:30:58

Sponsor 743
August 8
Junction Motor Speedway,
McCool Junction, NE
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (King of the Hill Late Model Showdown) - $2,000
Information provided by: Scott McBride and series reports (last updated August 9, 8:10 am)
Gustin cruises in Junction's King of the Hill opener
King of the Hill Late Model Showdown
  1. Ryan Gustin
  2. Terry Phillips
  3. Chad Simpson
  4. Mike Wiarda
  5. Travis Dickes
  6. Bill Leighton Jr.
  7. Justin Asplin
  8. J.C. Wyman
  9. Justin Zeitner
  10. Tony Jackson Jr.
  11. Kyle Berck
  12. John Anderson
  13. Al Humphrey
  14. Jeremy Payne
  15. Dean Moore
  16. Les Siebert
  17. Scott Lewis
  18. Jase Kaser
  19. John Hansen
  20. Bill Koons
  21. Wylan Petrie
  22. Tommy Weder Jr.
  23. Leroy Johnson
  24. Jeremy Petty
presented by
Todd Boyd
Ryan Gustin heads for his flag-to-flag victory at Junction.
What won the race: Ryan Gustin of Marshalltown, Iowa, ran unchallenged from the pole position to lead all 25 laps in the first round of Junction Motor Speedway's King of the Hill Showdown. Gustin took the checkers ahead of Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., who got the second spot when Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, jumped the cushion in the final laps.
Key notes: The annual doubleheader is tri-sanctioned by the Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association, MARS DIRTcar Series and National Championship Racing Association. ... John Anderson of Omaha, Neb., drew a caution on the race's initial start. ... The race's second and final caution came on the third lap when Justin Zeitner and Tommy Weder Jr. tangled, sending Weder around; J.C. Wyman narrowly escaped the accident. ... Justin Gregg's night ended when he lost a motor in heat race action. ... Other drivers failing to make the feature were David Garmann, Jarred Hacker and Tad Pospisil, who broke coming to the checkered flag in the final heat.
On the move: Travis Dickes of Madison, Neb., rallied from 14th to finish fifth, one spot better than Bill Leighton Jr. of Omaha, Neb., who started 17th.
Winner's sponsors: Gustin’s Ed and Cinde Gressel-owned Rocket Chassis powered by a Durham Racing Engine carries sponsorship from Eibach Springs, FastShafts by AxleExchange, Hinchman Racewear, Integra Racing Shocks, McCarthney Welding, Midwest Hearing Aids, R2C Performance Products, Sybesma Graphics and VP Race Fuels.
Points chase: Entering the weekend, Chad Simpson (MLRA), Tony Jackson Jr. (MARS) and Kyle Berck (NCRA) were series points leaders; each driver unofficially keeps their series points lead following Friday's action.
Car count: 28
Polesitter: Ryan Gustin
Heat race winners: Tommy Weder Jr., Chad Simpson, Mike Wiarda
Consolation race winners: Tony Jackson Jr.
Next series race: August 9, Junction Motor Speedway (McCool Junction, NE) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information