Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/25/2023 18:23:05

Sponsor 743
August 5
West Liberty Raceway,
West Liberty, IA
Sanction: Unsanctioned special events (Tornado Tuesday) - $10,000
Information provided by: Christian Dundee and The Gazette (last updated August 6, 2:41 pm)
Birkhofer earns $10,000 for home-track victory
Tornado Tuesday
  1. Brian Birkhofer
  2. Chris Simpson
  3. Jason Feger
  4. Chad Simpson
  5. Dave Eckrich
  6. Gregg Satterlee
  7. Rich Bell
  8. Jonathan Brauns
  9. Billy Moyer
  10. Jason Utter
  11. Nick Marolf
  12. Andy Eckrich
  13. Denny Eckrich
  14. Spencer Diercks
  15. Justin Kay
  16. Justin Mitchell
  17. Jake Meier
  18. Jay Johnson
  19. Wayne Brau
  20. Skip Frey
  21. Lyle Zanker
presented by
What won the race: Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, Iowa, built has much as a half-track lead in outrunning Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, for a $10,000 victory in West Liberty Raceway's Tornado Tuesday.
Quotable: “It’s always fun to (come home),” Birkhofer told The (West Liberty) Gazette. “There’s pressure on me because I’ve had success here over the years, and each year I’m a year older and only race here once a year. I just come here and try my best a drive the car hard. There’s always good cars here, there’s always heat. … This is a springboard for us, and obviously 10 grand is 10 grand — that’s a good paycheck.”
Key notes: Birkhofer drove away from the field, but a close battle for second continued throughout the race. ... With 14 laps remaining in the 50-lap distance, only seven cars were on the lead lap. ... The feature event was slowed by six cautions. ... Andy Eckrich of Oxford, Iowa, spun to bring out an early yellow. ... Defending race winner Jason Utter of Columbus Junction, Iowa, drew a lap-39 caution; Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark., retired early under the yellow. ... J.C. Wyman scratched from the feature lineup. ... Birkhofer grabbed his fifth victory of 2014 and matched his richest of the season. ... Brian Harris of Davenport, Iowa, topped 19 entrants in the track's weekly IMCA-sanctioned spec-engine Late Model feature, overtaking Kyle Hinrichs on the final restart. ... Hinrichs, Tyler Bruening, Kevin Kile and Luke Merfeld filled out the top-five finishers on the undercard.
Winner's sponsors: Birkhofer's Rocket Chassis has a Pro Power Racing Engine and sponsorship from Ideal Ready Mix, Zen's Flooring, Cheap Cars, ASi Raceway, Moore Wireless, Quality Construction Services and McFarland Pain Clinic.
Points chase: Andy Eckrich of Oxford, Iowa, tops West Liberty's IMCA Late Model point standings.
Car count: 22
Dash winner: Chris Simpson
Heat race winners: Chris Simpson, Brian Birkhofer, Billy Moyer
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information