Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/25/2023 18:13:37

Sponsor 743
August 2
Tazewell Speedway,
Tazewell, TN
Sanction: Schaeffer's Southern Nationals - $5,300
Information provided by: Richard Allen and series reports (last updated August 3, 12:53 pm)
Jacobsen survives Tazewell for $5,300
  1. Eric Jacobsen
  2. Bryan Hendrix
  3. Stacy Boles
  4. Vic Hill
  5. Billy Ogle Jr.
  6. Brad Neat
  7. Donald McIntosh
  8. Justin Rattliff
  9. Chris Madden
  10. Cory Hedgecock
  11. Austin Smith
  12. Craig Vosbergen
  13. Chad Ogle
  14. Josh Collins
  15. Bobby Mays
  16. Bo Eaton
  17. Terry Wolfenbarger
  18. Zack Mitchell
  19. Doug Smith
  20. Mike Marlar
  21. Anthony Burroughs
  22. Anthony Arnwire
presented by
Glen Starek
Eric Jacobsen celebrates in victory lane at Tazewell Speedway.
What won the race: In a caution-plagued series finale, Eric Jacobsen of Rio Del Mar, Calif., took the lead from Brad Neat of Dunnville, Ky., on lap 35 of 53 and led the remaining distance for his first Schaeffer Oil Southern Nationals victory of the season. Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C., finished ninth, enough to wrap up his fifth series crown.
Quotable: "I was really just looking for a good finish tonight and sealing up (second in series points) for the team, and like you said, things kept coming to me," Jacobsen said. "I realized I had a better car than when I started, and I was able to take advantage of it."
Key notes: Only four cars finished. ... The first yellow flew on the initial start for a pileup involving Anthony Arnwine, Anthony Burroughs, Austin Smith and Doug Smith. ... Bo Eaton drew the second caution on the eighth lap; Mike Marlar retired early with mechanical issues. ... A lap-11 yellow flew for Austin Smith. ... Polesitter and race leader Chris Madden drew a lap-23 caution when he suffered a right-rear flat; Brad Neat inherited the lead. ... Chris Vosbergen lost a tire on lap 29, slamming into the turn-two wall. ... Bryan Hendrix spun on lap 35 for another caution; Jacbson charged to the lead on the ensuing restart. ... Fourth-running Justin Rattliff drew a lap-37 yellow when he slowed with a flat. ... A caution flag flew for second-running Brad Neat on lap 47 when he hit the turn-two wall. ... Billy Ogle Jr. drew the final caution on lap 50 when he lost a tire, collecting Stacy Boles.
On the move: Despite a lap-35 spin, 14th-starting Bryan Hendrix of Knoxville, Tenn., finished second.
Winner's sponsors: Eric Jacobsen's Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Soil-Fume.
Points chase: Madden captured his fifth Schaeffer Oil Southern Nationals Series title.
Car count: 25
Fast qualifier: Brad Neat
Time: 10.976 seconds
Polesitter: Chris Madden
Dash winner: Chris Madden
Consolation race winners: Justin Rattliff, Vic Hill
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information