Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/28/2023 03:00:52

Sponsor 743
July 27
Oakshade Raceway,
Wauseon, OH
Sanction: Sunoco American Late Model Series (Barney Oldfield Race) - $5,500
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated July 28, 10:54 pm)
Schlenk wins Oakshade's $5,000 Oldfield Memorial
Barney Oldfield Race
  1. Rusty Schlenk
  2. Dona Marcoullier
  3. Jeep Van Wormer
  4. Devin Shiels
  5. Chris Keller
  6. Ryan Missler
  7. Brett Miller
  8. Matt Shipley
  9. Casey Noonan
  10. Dan Wallace
  11. Steve Kester
  12. Jeff Geis
  13. Bob Mayer
  14. Chad White
  15. Steve Miller
  16. Ron Miller
  17. Scott Fisk
  18. Dusty Moore
  19. Phil Ausra
  20. Curtis Roberts
  21. Colin Shipley
  22. Chuck Hummer
presented by
Charlie Orns
Rusty Schlenk earned $5,500 for winning Oakshade's Barney Oldfield Race.
What won the race: Rusty Schlenk of McClure, Ohio, charged from his 11th starting position to win the 30th annual Barney Oldfield Race on Saturday at Oakshade Raceway. Schlenk overtook Jeep Van Wormer after a restart with five laps remaining to earn $5,500 for his 29th career Sunoco American Late Model Series victory and third Oldfield victory.
Quotable: “I didn’t think there was any way in heck we were gonna come from 11th, especially when they started doing single-file restarts there,” Schlenk said. “I don’t know why we did that. I was rolling on the top. It was pretty one lane around the bottom. It was pretty hard to pass. We adjusted the car to try to roll the middle there and I had the middle rolling. There was a little bit of moisture right up by the wall and I could catch of little bit of that and get a good launch into the corner.”
Key notes: Schlenk won his 201st feature victory; his 200th came the previous night in regular season action at I-96 Speedway in Lake Odessa, Mich. ... At Oakshade, Schlenk took the checkers ahead ahead of fellow Michigan natives Dona Marcoullier of Houghton Lake and Jeep Van Wormer of Pinconning. ... Van Wormer started outside the front row and took over form early leader Curtis Roberts, who retired in 20th. ... Schlenk becomes the first repeat winner in ALMS events this season, leaving Kent Robinson and Ryan VanderVeen each with one victory. … The series returns to Oakshade on Aug. 31.
On the move: Winner Rusty Schlenk advanced 10 positions; runner-up Dona Marcoullier started ninth.
Winner's sponsors: Schlenk’s C.J. Rayburn Race Car is powered by an ECR Engine and sponsored by Buckeye Concrete Coatings, Tom Finch Automotive, Dominator Race Products, Velocita USA, Landrum Performance Springs, VP Racing Fuel, Vahlco Racing Wheels, Wilwood and CP-Carrillo.
Points chase: Entering the race, Casey Noonan (125 points) led Scott Fisk (122), Jason Playter Jr. (110), Chad White (107) and Ryan VanderVeen (107).
Current weather: Mostly Clear, 79°F
Car count: 35
Heat race winners: Curtis Roberts, Jeep Van Wormer, Scott Fisk, Casey Noonan
Consolation race winners: Colin Shipley, Matt Shipley
Next series race: August 30, I-96 Speedway (Lake Odessa, MI) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Roberts, Van Wormer
Row 2: Fisk, Noonan
Row 3: Keller, White
Row 4: B. Miller, Missler
Row 5: Marcoullier, Shiels
Row 6: Schlenk, Kester
Row 7: Moore, S. Miller
Row 8: Mayer, R. Miller
Row 9: C. Shipley, M. Shipley
Row 10: Wallace, Geis
Row 11: Ausra, Hummer
Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information