Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/25/2023 18:34:19

Sponsor 743
July 20
Jamestown Speedway,
Jamestown, ND
Sanction: Northern LateModel Racing Association - $1,200
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated July 22, 3:33 pm)
Balcaen outruns NLRA foes at Jamestown
  1. Mike Balcaen
  2. Josh Skorczewski
  3. Chad Becker
  4. Cole Schill
  5. Mike Stearns
  6. Dustin Strand
  7. Brody Troftgruben
  8. Jeff Hapala
  9. Curt Gelling
  10. Shawn Meyer
  11. Brad Seng
  12. Shane Edginton
  13. Travis Robertson
  14. Eric Edwards
  15. Jesse Teunis
  16. Casey Meyer
  17. Dan Dowling
  18. Curt Kranz
  19. Blake Anderson
  20. Brandon Rekow
  21. Cole Babcock
  22. Bob Moody
  23. Erik Robertson
  24. Ryan Kereluk
  25. Kevin Robertson
  26. Tom Corcoran
  27. Paul Mueller
presented by
Mike Balcaen captured his 26th career NLRA feature victory.
What won the race: Four-time series champion Mike Balcaen of Winnipeg, Manitoba, led all 25 laps Saturday at Jamestown Speedway for his first Northern LateModel Racing Association victory in nearly a year. Polesitter Chad Becker finished behind his fellow front-row starter in a race slowed by five cautions where passing was at a premium.
Quotable: "Usually you don't want yellows, but for me, just as we were coming up to lap (slower cars), the yellow came out. So it worked out well," Balcaen said. "If we'd have had to fight through that lapped traffic I think it would've been a different story and some torn up cars."
Key notes: Balcaen notched his first NLRA victory since July 28, 2018, at Greenbush (Minn.) Race Park. ... He has 26 career NLRA victories, tied with the late John Seitz for second in all-time series victories. ... Josh Skorczewski took the second spot from Chad Becker on the final lap. ... Four cautions slowed the first half of the 25-lapper. ... Another caution appeared on lap 17. ... Jamestown hosted its lone NLRA race of 2019.
On the move: Brody Troftgruben of Grand Forks, N.D., started 13th and finished seventh.
Winner's sponsors: Balcaen's Black Diamond Chassis is powered by a Scott Bailey Racing Engine and sponsored by Sylmak, Mission Transport, Enns Brothers Ltd., AlarmWatch Canada.com, Tri-State Traffic and Imrie Demolition.
Points chase: Entering the event, Shane Edington (644 points) of Winnipeg, Manitoba, led Dustin Strand (610) and Brad Seng (590).
Current weather: Clear, 64°F
Car count: 28
Polesitter: Chad Becker
Heat race winners: Josh Skorczewski, Mike  Stearns, Chad Becker, Mike Balcaen
Next series race: July 26, River Cities Speedway (Grand Forks, ND) $1,200
Editor's note: Corrects finish, reversing second- and third-place finishers.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Becker, Balcaen
Row 2: Stearns, Skorczewski
Row 3: C. Meyer, Dowling
Row 4: Schill, S. Meyer
Row 5: Robertson, Strand
Row 6: Troftgruben, T. Robertson
Row 7: Kereluk, Gelling
Row 8: Corcoran, Seng
Row 9: Edginton, Edwards
Row 10: E. Robertson, Mueller
Row 11: Anderson, Babcock
Row 12: Teunis, Moody
Row 13: Rekow, Corbett
Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information