Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1259
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/24/2024 07:01:42

Sponsor 743
July 6
Harris Speedway,
Rutherfordton, NC
Sanction: Blue Ridge Outlaw Late Models (Charlie Blanton Memorial) - $1,200
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated July 7, 1:27 pm)
Pre-teen Harper wins Blue Ridge stop at Harris
Charlie Blanton Memorial
  1. Bryson Harper
  2. Ricky Weeks
  3. Brandon O'Neil
  4. L.D. Shumate
  5. Will Bailey
  6. Jimmy Taylor
  7. Mark Dysart
  8. Billy Smith
  9. Herby James
  10. Leslie Smith
  11. Coty Tanquary
  12. Jon Thornburg
  13. Dan Breuer
  14. Jonathan Gilbert
presented by
Brian Metski/ibrianmetskiphotography.smugmug.com
Bryson Harper, 12, notched his first victory on the series.
What won the race: After taking the lead from polesitter Dan Breaur midway through the main event, 12-year-old Bryson Harper of Forest City, N.C., turned back veteran Ricky Weeks to win Saturday’s Blue Ridge Outlaws-sanctioned Charlie Blanton Memorial at Harris Speedway. Harper earned $1,200 for his first career Late Model victory.
Quotable: “They said (Weeks) pulled up beside me, but I never saw him,” Harper said. “My crew did a good job getting (the car) ready this week.”
Key notes: After setting the overall fast time, Harper started on the outside front row by virtue of a redraw. … After giving up the lead, Breaur pitted and finished 13th. … Harris Motor Speedway hosted what was originally the second night of the Blue Ridge tour’s weekend doubleheader, but Friday’s race at Triple-County Racetrack in Brasstown, N.C., was rained out. … It was the second of four visits to the Rutherfordton, N.C., oval this season. … Matthew Nance of Ronda, N.C., has won six of 12 series races this season, including the tour’s May 26 stop at Harris. … The series returns Sept. 1 and Sept. 28.
Winner's sponsors: Harper’s winning machine is sponsored by Hoopaugh Grading Company and J&J Race Cars.
Who to watch: Will Bailey started 12th and finished fifth.
Points chase: Before Harris, Brandon O’Neil (363 points) led Mark Dysart (316), Chuck Smith (270), Matthew Nance (266) and Ricky Weeks (255).
Current weather: Clear, 73°F
Car count: 14
Fast qualifier: Bryson Harper
Polesitter: Dan Breuer
Next series race: July 12, Tri-County Racetrack (Brasstown, NC) $1,800
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Breuer, Harper 
Row 2: Dysart, Shumate
Row 3: Weeks, O'Neil
Row 4: B. Smith, Tanquary
Row 5: Thornbury, L. Smith
Row 6: Taylor, Bailey
Row 7: James, Gilbert

Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information