Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/24/2022 12:35:34

Sponsor 743
July 29
Boyd's Speedway,
Ringgold, GA
Sanction: Schaeffer's Southern Nationals - $3,500
Information provided by: Richard Allen and series reports (last updated July 30, 9:30 am)
Sizzling Weaver collects third Southern Nat'ls win
  1. Randy Weaver
  2. Chris Madden
  3. Ronnie Johnson
  4. Austin Dillon
  5. Riley Hickman
  6. Dane Dacus
  7. Jason Croft
  8. Donald McIntosh
  9. Billy Ogle Jr.
  10. Austin Kirkpatrick
  11. Austin Smith
  12. Vic Hill
  13. Cory Hedgecock
  14. Skip Arp
  15. Eric Jacobsen
  16. Heath Hindman
  17. Craig Vosbergen
  18. Anthony Burroughs
  19. Brandon Kinzer
  20. Josh Adkins
  21. Stacy Boles
  22. Dylan Ames
  23. Ty Dillon
presented by
Thomas Hendrickson/dt52photos.com
Randy Weaver grabbed his sixth straight victory on Tuesday.
What won the race: Extending a personal six-race win streak, polesitter Randy Weaver of Crossville, Tenn., led all 35 laps Tuesday at Boyd's Speedway to earn $3,500. He notched his second straight Schaeffer Oil Southern Nationals victory and series-leading third of 2014, taking the checkers nearly four seconds ahead of points leader Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C. Hall of Famer Ronnie Johnson and NASCAR Sprint Cup driver Austin Dillon, who ran second most of the way after starting outside the front row, were third and fourth.
Quotable: "Aw man, I'm telling you, I've gotta thank the Lord, I'm telling you," Weaver said. "He's been way too good to me. I don't deserve any of it. Everything we do is for him. I've not always been that way, but I'm sure glad I'm that way now."
Key notes: Half of Weaver's six career Southern Nationals victories have come in 2014. His previous victory before this season came in 2011 at North Georgia Speedway ... Two cautions slowed the 35-lapper Ty Dillon spun on the 10th lap, erasing a near-straightaway lead for Weaver. ... The second caution appeared when Dylan Ames stopped on lap 21 with Weaver leading Austin Dillon, Madden and Johnson. ... The event drew a record-breaking crowd.
On the move: Donald McIntosh started 12th and finished eighth.
Winner's sponsors: Weaver's Longhorn Chassis has Cornett Thunder power and sponsorship from A.F. Stone Professional Medical Services, Hoosier Racing Tire, Outlaw Race Parts, SlickerGraphics.com, Stone Land Clearing & Excavating, The Bailey Company and VP Racing Fuels.
Points chase: Four-time champion Chris Madden, who entered the race with a 12-point lead on Eric Jacobsen, lengthened it with his runner-up finish while Jacobsen took a provisional starting spot and finished 15th.
Car count: 37
Fast qualifier: Randy Weaver
Time: 14.758 seconds
Polesitter: Randy Weaver
Dash winner: Randy Weaver
Consolation race winners: Cory Hedgecock, Dane Dacus, Jason Croft, Dylan Ames
Provisional starters: Eric Jacobsen, Stacy Boles
Next series race: July 31, Duck River Raceway Park (Wheel, TN) $3,500
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728