Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1023
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 08/23/2019 23:47:51

Sponsor 743
June 11
Laurens County Speedway,
Laurens, SC
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series (Laurens Shrine Race) - $3,500
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated June 12, 6:19 pm)
Collins cruises to flag-to-flag Shrine triumph
Laurens Shrine Race
  1. Kenny Collins
  2. Zack Mitchell
  3. Jeff Smith
  4. Travis Pennington
  5. David Yandle
  6. Anthony Sanders
  7. Adam Yarbrough
  8. Frank Coates
  9. Larry Grube
  10. Kale Green
  11. Bryson Harper
  12. Brett Hamm
  13. Will Harris
  14. Dennis Franklin
  15. Kevin Godwin
  16. Mike Kernells
presented by
Jy's Photos
Kenny Collins grabbed his first career Carolina Clash victory.
What won the race: Pulling away following a caution with four laps remaining, polesitter Kenny Collins of Colbert, Ga., completed a flag-to-flag victory in Tuesday’s Carolina Clash-sanctioned 38th annual Shrine race at Laurens County Speedway. In earning a $3,500 payday, Collins topped Zack Mitchell by 0.536 seconds for his first career Carolina Clash Series triumph.
Quotable: "Four years ago here I made a fool of myself (by clearing the turn-two wall in time trials). I'm sure everybody remembers that," Collins said. "You don't know what it means to me to conquer this place."
Key notes: Collins has 10 victories at five tracks in 2019. … Collins and Mitchell were pulling away over the final 10 laps when the caution waved on lap 31. The lead duo pulled away on the restart to finish comfortably ahead of third-placed Jeff Smith. … Eleven of the 16 starters finished, seven completing 35 laps. … The race was slowed by three cautions: laps 1, 19 and 31. … David Yandle slipped by Anthony Sanders for fifth place following the lap-31 restart. … Collins is the fourth different Carolina Clash winner in four events this season, joining Michael Brown, Brett Hamm and Trent Ivey. … Billy Rushton won the 20-lap 602 Crate Late Model feature.
Winner's sponsors: Collins drives a Rocket Chassis powered by an Adkins Race Engine and sponsored by RC Performance Racing Transmissions, All K Electric, Thanks to All K Electric, RC Performance Transmissions, Athens Auto Wrecking, Southeast Misc. Erectors, Vinson Sims Construction, Watkins Automotive, Perdue Paint & Body, Roberts Welding, ETG, GW Performance, Integra Shocks, Dockery Transport, CSR, Kenny Harris Grading, Coltman Farms, Collins Auto Salvage, Freeman Plumbing, BruceBilt, Hoosier Tire by Brian Key and Buffalo Bar & Grill.
Points chase: Before Laurens, Brett Hamm (335 points) of Newberry, S.C., led Dennis Franklin (316), Ben Watkins (303), Chris Ferguson (285) and Jeff Smith (284).
Current weather: Clear, 68°F
Car count: 16
Fast qualifier: Kenny Collins
Time: 14.405 seconds
Next series race: June 21, Beckley Motorsports Park (Beckley, WV) $10,000
Editor's note: Corrects winner's chassis and sponsors.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728