Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/24/2022 20:13:22

Sponsor 743
July 26
Lafayette County Speedway,
Darlington, WI
Sanction: Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series - $3,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated July 28, 12:02 am)
Chad Simpson ends Corn Belt Clash drought
  1. Chad Simpson
  2. Billy Moyer Jr.
  3. Dave Eckrich
  4. Jason Utter
  5. Mike Fryer
  6. Paul Parker
  7. Bob Cullen
  8. Lance Matthees
  9. Mark Rose
  10. Scott Riechers
  11. Brad Stewart
  12. Greg Wagner
  13. Jason Robbins
  14. Dave Fieber
  15. Spencer Diercks
  16. Todd Alexander
  17. Lyle Zanker
  18. Gary Webb
  19. Jake Meier
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Chad Simpson heads to his first Corn Belt Clash victory of 2014.
What won the race: Earning his first Corn Belt Clash victory in nearly year, four-time series champion Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, overtook Billy Moyer Jr. of Batesville, Ark., in the race's middle stages and picked up $3,000 at Lafayette County Speedway. Moyer, making a surprise series start, settled for second.
Key notes: Polesitter and third-place finisher Dave Eckrich of Oxford, Iowa, led early while Moyer quickly rallied to second and Simpson to third. ... A lap-10 caution bunched up the field and set up a side-by-side battle with Eckrich (high) and Moyer (low); Moyer ultimately took command in traffic after multiple laps of battling and began to stretch his lead. ... After an extensive effort, Simpson was able to slip past Eckrich just before a mid-race caution for David Fiber, which would give him a shot at Moyer. ... Simpson made the high groove work late and overtook Moyer, while Eckrich had his hands full with Jason Utter of Columbus Junction, Iowa, and Mike Fryer of Freeport, Ill., racing for top-five positions. ... Utter won Friday's Corn Belt Clash stop at Cedar County Raceway in Tipton, Iowa. ... The Iowa-based tour made its third trip to the Wisconsin oval in as many years. ... Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, who did not enter Saturday, won in 2012, while Eckrich won 2013's race. ... The track wraps up its season with Aug. 1 and Aug. 8 events.
On the move: Chad Simpson came from seventh for his 26th career series victory; Fryer came from 14th to finish fifth.
Winner's sponsors: The winner's Treat Engine-powered Victory Circle Chassis by Diercks entry is sponsored by Allstar Performance, Diercks Ltd, Farm Bureau Financial Services, GATR Truck Center, Graves Oil, Liebe Trucking, Master Built Concrete, Simpson Farms and Wehrs Machine & Racing Prodcuts.
Points chase: Simpson leaves Lafayette with 359 points to lead Eckrich (281 points) and Jason Utter (276).
Car count: 21
Polesitter: Dave Eckrich
Dash winner: Dave Eckrich
Heat race winners: Jason Utter, Billy Moyer Jr., Dave Eckrich
Next series race: August 21, Luxemburg Speedway (Luxemburg, WI) $3,000
Editor's note: Fixes Simpson's chassis and engine brand to Victory Circle powered by Treat Engines sted Rocket by Jay-Dickens.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728