Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/01/2022 20:00:21

Sponsor 743
July 26
Screven Motor Speedway,
Sylvania, GA
Sanction: Schaeffer's Southern Nationals (Rebel Yell) - $5,300
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated July 27, 12:42 pm)
Franklin outruns Roberts for $5,300 at Screven
Rebel Yell
  1. Dennis Franklin
  2. Casey Roberts
  3. Casey Barrow
  4. Eric Jacobsen
  5. Donald McIntosh
  6. Billy Ogle Jr.
  7. Craig Vosbergen
  8. Chris Madden
  9. Vic Hill
  10. Joey Coulter
  11. Austin Smith
  12. Ben Watkins
  13. Chris Ferguson
  14. Brant Carey
  15. Jim Manka
  16. Ivedent Lloyd Jr.
  17. Kenny Collins
  18. Scott Shirey
  19. Stacy Boles
  20. Brent Dixon
  21. Tony Knowles
  22. Johnny Pursley
  23. Aaron Ridley
presented by
Howard Lawson
Dennis Franklin gets rolling at Screven Motor Speedway.
What won the race: Seventh-starting Dennis Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., overtook Casey Roberts of Toccoa, Ga., down the backstretch on the 39th lap of the 53-lap event and was not challenged thereafter. Franklin denied Roberts back-to-back weekend victories on the series and earned $5,300 for his seventh series victory.
On the move: Franklin rallied from seventh to victory; Casey Barrow of Savannah, Ga., started 10th and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: Franklin's Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements Automotive Racing Engine is sponsored by Advanced Electronic Services, AES Racing, C&D Properties and M&W Towing.
Points chase: Entering the race, Madden had 771 points to lead Eric Jacobsen (746) and Stacy Boles (727).
Car count: 28
Fast qualifier: Brent Dixon
Time: 15.003 seconds
Polesitter: Brent Dixon
Dash winner: Brent Dixon
Consolation race winners: Johnny Pursley, Chris Ferguson
Provisional starters: Stacy Boles, Austin Smith, Anthony Burroughs
Next series race: July 29, Boyd's Speedway (Ringgold, GA) $3,500
Editor's note: Fixes date and track of Franklin's previous series victory.
From series reports

SYLVANIA, Ga. (July 26) —  In its first five events, the Schaeffer Oil Southern Nationals Series has seen five different winners. Dennis Franklin of Gaffney, S.C. became the fifth on Saturday at Screven Motor Speedway, collecting $5,300 for his ninth career Southern Nationals victory.

The seventh-starting Franklin charged past race leader Casey Roberts of Toccoa, Ga., down the backstretch on the 39th lap of the 53-lap event and was not challenged thereafter. Roberts, who took the lead from Brent DIxon of Elberton, Ga., on the seventh circuit, held second through the finish, while Casey Barrow of Bloomingdale, Ga., came forward from 10th to show third. Eric Jacobsen of Rio Del Mar, Calif., and Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, Ga., rounded out the feature's top-five finishers.

After struggling in time trials, Franklin transferred to the feature through a consolation race. He advanced through the front of the field, biding his time when he moved to the third-place spot.

“They got to racing pretty hard there when I got to third and I just said I was going to sit there and run the race a while,” Franklin said in victory lane. “They got to racing pretty hard and I could tell they was getting a little tight, so I went ahead and got by and just rode behind Casey for a while, and then got him.”

After finishing 23rd Friday in series action at Swainsboro (Ga.) Raceway, Franklin said his team made major adjustments to his No. 2 Longhorn Chassis before Saturday’s race.

“My crew, we talked about it,” Franklin said. “We throwed everything at this car. We changed a whole different setup tonight. It was awesome. The car was unbelievably fast. Night and day difference.”

Looking to notch his second straight Southern Nationals victory, Roberts fell to Franklin late in the race after experiencing vibration issues. The outside polesitter held on to second at the finish.

“I thought first the rear end may be going or something, but I think it was the tires chattering real hard, so I started rolling out a little bit, and we got in lapped traffic … we were just a little too tight,” Roberts said. “Rambo had the better car tonight. Glad he won the race. We’re keeping the Longhorn thing going pretty good, so congratulations to him.”

Notes: Franklin's previous series victory came July 13, 2010, at Carolina Speedway in Gastonia, N.C.; he also won Screven's Southern Nationals events in both 2008 and 2009. ... Dixon, the polesitter and DirtonDirt.com dash winner, led the first six laps but retired from the event after stopping in turn two to draw a lap-16 caution; he finished 20th. ... Ivedent Lloyd Jr. of Ocala, Fla., ran amongst the frontrunners for much of the race but fell from contention late. ... Johnny Pursley (lap four) and Stacy Boles (lap 22) were charged with the race's other cautions. ... Series points leader Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C., started 19th and finished a quiet eighth, posting his worst finish on the 2014 circuit to date. ... Following the event, Kenny Collins of Colbert, Ga., tweeted his plans to drop off the tour. ... Rome (Ga.) Speedway wraps up a three-race weekend in Georgia on Sunday before the tour takes a one-day break.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Dixon, Roberts
Row 2: Ogle, Lloyd
Row 3: Pursley, Ferguson
Row 4: Franklin, Jacobsen
Row 5: McIntosh, Barrow
Row 6: Vosbergen, Hill
Row 7: Ridley, Coulter
Row 8: Shirey, Watkins
Row 9: Knowles, Collins
Row 10: Madden, Carey
Row 11: Boles, Smith
Row 12: Burroughs
Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728