Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/05/2020 16:39:59

Sponsor 743
May 26
Merritt Speedway,
Lake City, MI
Sanction: American Ethanol Late Model Tour (DIRTcar) (CHS 40) - $4,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 27, 8:42 am)
Restart burst decisive as Marcoullier rules Merritt
CHS 40
  1. Dona Marcoullier
  2. Rusty Schlenk
  3. Brandon Thirlby
  4. Rich Bell
  5. Travis Stemler
  6. Dennis Erb Jr.
  7. Frank Heckenast Jr.
  8. Nick Kurtz
  9. Rich Neiser
  10. Chad Finley
  11. Steven Hilliker
  12. Dave Baker
  13. Andrew Terrill
  14. Herb Reich
  15. David Mielke
  16. Eric Spangler
  17. Rob Anderzack
  18. Dusty Moore
  19. Kyle Novak
  20. Mike Staszak
  21. Jason Playter Jr.
  22. Kyle Roberts
  23. Michael Luberda Jr.
  24. Logan Arntz
  25. Joe Godsey
  26. Josh Knoll
presented by
Jim DenHamer
Dona Marcoullier earned $4,000 for his win at Merritt.
What won the race: Making a dramatic burst from third-to-first on a lap-29 restart , Dona Marcoullier of Houghton Lake, Mich., registered a $4,000 victory in Sunday's American Ethanol Late Model Tour-sanctioned CHS 40 at Merritt Speedway. He vaulted past Rusty Schlenk and Brandon Thirlby to lead lap 30 and rolled to his first win of 2019 on the Michigan-based series.
Quotable: "This is awesome," Marcoullier said. "It started taking rubber and I just moved up at the right time. ... We had the best stuff last year, too, and we couldn't go anywhere. We threw away the spring smasher, went back to the scales and its awesome again. We're having fun."
Key notes: Marcoullier handled two lap-33 restarts with aplomb to defeat Schlenk by 0.869 of a second for his series-leading 11th career triumph. ... Before Marcoullier dramatically seized control, Thirlby and Schlenk swapped the top spot; Thirlby led laps 1-9 and 28-29 while Schlenk paced laps 10-27. ... Thirlby fell from first to third on the lap-29 restart and finished in the final podium position. ... Rich Bell overtook Travis Stemler in the final laps to finish fourth. ... World of Outlaws regular Dennis Erb Jr., who topped a 40-car field at Merritt on Saturday for a unsanctioned victory after Thunderbird's Ethanol Tour show rained out, finished sixth. ... Caution flags flew on lap 29 for a Mike Staszak-Logan Arntz tangle in turn four and twice on lap 33 (spins by Staszak and Jason Playter Jr.). … Marcoullier became the fifth winner in five series events.
On the move: Rich Neiser of Fruitport, Mich., started 20th and finished ninth.
Winner's sponsors: Marcoullier’s Club 29 Race Car is powered by a Rhyne Competition Engine and carries sponsorship from Dennis Craft Construction, Patrick Plumbing, Roscommon Auto Recyclers, Michigan Steel and Trim, McBain Body Shop, Jimmy’s Collision, Randall’s Collision and Wilds True Value Hardware.
Points chase: Thirlby (244 points) entered the event leading the standings over Travis Stemler (220), Eric Spangler (198), Logan Arntz (195) and Rich Bell (190).
Current weather: Clear, 55°F
Car count: 38
Fast qualifier: Dennis Erb Jr.
Time: 14.524 seconds
Polesitter: Rusty Schlenk
Heat race winners: Travis Stemler, Nick Kurtz, Rich Bell, Dona Marcoullier
Consolation race winners: Dusty Moore, David Mielke
Next series race: June 1, Montpelier Motor Speedway (Montpelier, IN) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Schlenk, Thirlby
Row 2: Stemler, Marcoullier
Row 3: Hilliker, Bell
Row 4: Kurtz, Erb
Row 5: Playter, Heckenast
Row 6: Terrill, Anderzack
Row 7: Reich, Spangler
Row 8: Finley, Baker
Row 9: Moore, Knoll
Row 10: Mielke, Neiser
Row 11: Arntz, K. Roberts
Row 12: J. Godsey, Luberda
Row 13: Novak, Staszak
Sponsor 718
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728