Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1169
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 11/28/2020 18:52:48

Sponsor 743
May 26
Port Royal Speedway,
Port Royal, PA
Sanction: Unsanctioned special events (Fallen Heroes Championships) - $5,000
Information provided by: Kevin Kovac (last updated May 27, 12:19 pm)
Zeigler's first Port Royal win worth $5,000
Fallen Heroes Championships
  1. Mason Zeigler
  2. Jason Covert
  3. Rick Eckert
  4. Gregg Satterlee
  5. Dylan Yoder
  6. Michael Norris
  7. Austin Hubbard
  8. Tyler Bare
  9. Andy Haus
  10. Gary Stuhler
  11. Shaun Jones
  12. Bryan Bernheisel
  13. Nick Dickson
  14. Dan Stone
  15. Brett Schadel
  16. Trent Brenneman
  17. Hayes Mattern
  18. Ralph Morgan Jr.
  19. Rance Garlock
  20. Jeff Rine
  21. Dillan Stake
  22. Tim Smith Jr.
  23. Matt Cosner
  24. Austin Berry
presented by
Brian Rhoad/wrtspeedwerx.com
Mason Zeigler scored his first Port Royal Speedway victory.
What won the race: Mason Zeigler of Chalk Hill, Pa., overtook Rick Eckert for the lead on lap 18 and captured Sunday evening's held-over 35-lap Fallen Heroes Championship. The 26-year-old driver beat Jason Covert by 1.857 seconds to pocket a $5,000 prize for his first Port Royal victory.
Quotable: "I love this place," Zeigler said. "We've been coming here for a long time. This has been hiding from me for a long time. We've been snookered there a couple of times. Rick's (Eckert) ironically got me with like two (laps) to go for the last two $5,000, $10,000-to-wins. I told him I was going to get him back."
Key notes: Zeigler was the third leader, following Covert (laps 1-5, 7) and Eckert (laps 6, 8-17). ... The victory provided some redemption for Zeigler, who was passed for the lead by Eckert twice this season at central Pennsylvania ovals, including the previous week at Selinsgrove. ... The polesitting Covert passed Eckert for second on a lap-28 restart but was unable to challenge Zeigler. ... Eckert settled for third while Gregg Satterlee finished fourth after swapping the position several times with Dylan Yoder in the final laps. ... Caution flags flew on lap one for a Shaun Jones-Austin Berry tangle in turn four; Tim Smith slowing on lap five; and Hayes Mattern’s flat tire on lap 28. … Matt Cosner relinquished the outside front-row starting spot because of engine woes. ... The feature was pushed to Sunday after Saturday rain deluged the speedway as the starting field was in the staging area.
On the move: Shaun Jones of Sherman Dale, Pa., started 24th and finished 11th.
Winner's sponsors: Zeigler’s Rocket Chassis has a Pro Power Racing Engine and sponsorship from Ohiopyle Vacation Rentals, Arizona Sport Shirts, JLE Industries, Stone House Restaurant, VP Racing Fuels, GottaRace.com and MS Shock Therapy.
Points chase: Dylan Yoder of Selinsgrove, Pa., entered the weekend leading the track's standings by 245 points over Andy Haus of Hamburg, Pa.
Current weather: Mostly Cloudy with Light Rain, 64°F
Car count: 38
Fast qualifier: Dylan Yoder
Time: 18.693 seconds
Polesitter: Jason Covert
Heat race winners: Andy Haus, Rick Eckert, Jason Covert, Trent Brenneman
Consolation race winners: Brett Schadel
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Covert, Cosner
Row 2: Norris, Zeigler
Row 3: Haus, Eckert
Row 4: Yoder, Satterlee
Row 5: Knaub, Brenneman
Row 6: Rine, Bare
Row 7: Hubbard, Smith Jr.
Row 8: Stuhler, Bernheisel
Row 9: Stone, Stake
Row 10: Dickson, Morgan
Row 11: Schadel, Mattern
Row 12: Garlock, Jones
Sponsor 863
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728