Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 11/29/2020 04:07:44

Sponsor 743
May 18
Canyon Speedway Park,
Peoria, AZ
Sanction: Southwest Dirt Racing Association - $700
Information provided by: Track reports (last updated May 22, 9:41 am)
Cornell scores SWDRA victory at Canyon
  1. John Cornell
  2. Bruce Duckett
  3. Jerry Fincher
  4. Steve Schultz
  5. James Laing
  6. Lee Hoy
  7. Kelly Johnson
  8. Brett Hegeman
  9. Craig Parker
  10. Paul Rios
presented by
Ken Stuecklen
John Cornell heads to victory at Canyon Speedway Park.
What won the race: Leading the final six circuits after polesitter Craig Parker retired on lap 19 with a broken axle, John Cornell of Phoenix, Ariz., captured a $700 Southwest Dirt Racing Association victory at Canyon Speedway Park.
Key notes: The third-starting Cornell scored his second consecutive SWDRA victory, winning the May 4 series event at FK Rod Ends Arizona Speedway. ... The reigning SWDRA champion sits third on the series all-time win list with 17 career series victories. ... Cornell joins Don Shaw of Ham Lake, Minn., as the series only repeat winners so far this season. ... The series has four more events scheduled at Canyon in 2019, returning next on July 20. ... The SWDRA will host a pair of Memorial Day weekend events at Arizona Speedway on May 25-26.
On the move: Hometown driver Steve Stultz started fifth and finished second.
Winner's sponsors: Cornell's Rocket Chassis is sponsored by ATEC Engineering.
Points chase: Cornell's victory broke a tie with Parker atop the SWDRA points standings; he's six points ahead of Parker with Bruce Duckett in third.
Car count: 10
Polesitter: Craig Parker
Heat race winners: Craig Parker, Bruce Duckett
Next series race: May 25, FK Rod Ends Arizona Speedway (Queen Creek, AZ) $700
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728