Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/02/2020 16:28:32

Sponsor 743
May 17
Lincoln Speedway,
Lincoln, IL
Sanction: Midwest Big 10 Series - $1,500
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 18, 3:47 am)
Chasteen Jr. captures first Big 10 victory
  1. Mike Chasteen Jr.
  2. Ryan Unzicker
  3. Brian Shirley
  4. Jose Parga
  5. Brian Diveley
  6. Myles Moos
  7. Kolby Vandenbergh
  8. Greg Kimmons
  9. Jason Wagner
  10. Cody Maguire
  11. Blake Damery
  12. Roben Huffman
  13. Kyle Van Dorn
  14. Charley Hess
presented by
Joseph Putnam
Mike Chasteen Jr. earned $2,000 for his first career Big 10 victory.
What won the race: Moving forward from his third starting position, Late Model rookie Mike Chasteen Jr. of Creve Coeur, Ill., stuck to the bottom groove to first pass Ryan Unzicker and then polesitter Brian Shirley to win Friday’s Midwest Big 10 Series season opener at Lincoln Speedway. He claimed $1,500 for his first career Big 10 victory.
Key notes: After Shirley jumped out to an early race lead, Chasteen Jr. worked the bottom to wrestle away the top spot and build a comfortable lead late in the 25-lap affair. … Chasteen was utilizing an all-steel engine. ... The race was slowed by only one caution after the first 19 laps went caution free. ... Lincoln Speedway hosted the Big 10 tour's season-opener. … It’s the seventh time the series has visited the central Illinois oval and the first night of a weekend doubleheader.
On the move: Jose Parga of New Berlin, Ill., started seventh and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Chasteen’s Kryptonite Race Car is sponsored by Machine Medics, Winner's Circle Speed and Custom, Reeser Lawncare & Landscaping, Window Tinting by Matt Fleming, Bruce Engineering and Kooter’s Drain Cleaning.
Points chase: The Big 10 tour opens its season; Jose Parga of New Berlin, Ill., is the 2018 champion.
Current weather: Clear, 77°F
Car count: 14
Fast qualifier: Brian Shirley
Time: 13.793 seconds
Polesitter: Brian Shirley
Heat race winners: Brian Shirley, Ryan Unzicker
Next series race: May 18, Highland Speedway (Highland, IL) $1,500
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Shirley, Unzicker
Row 2: Chasteen Jr., Moos
Row 3: Diveley, Vandenbergh
Row 4: Parga, Hess
Row 5: Wagner, Simmons
Row 6: Damery, Huffman
Row 7: Maguire, VanDorn
Sponsor 682
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728