Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/28/2023 01:47:38

Sponsor 743
July 25
Cedar County Raceway,
Tipton, IA
Sanction: Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series - $3,000
Information provided by: Christian Dundee and series reports (last updated July 26, 10:07 am)
Utter tops Simpson for Cedar County win
  1. Jason Utter
  2. Chad Simpson
  3. Spencer Diercks
  4. Jake Meier
  5. Denny Eckrich
  6. Mike Fryer
  7. Andy Eckrich
  8. Dave Eckrich
  9. Justin Kay
  10. Matt Ryan
  11. Stephan Kammerer
  12. Mark Rose
  13. Brunson Behning
  14. Jay Chenoweth
  15. Lance Matthees
  16. Terry Neal
  17. Jason Rauen
  18. Scott Fitzpatrick
  19. Jason Jaggers
  20. Lyle Zanker
  21. Bob Cullen
  22. Wayne Brau
  23. Dave Fieber
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Jason Utter heads to victory at Cedar County Raceway.
What won the race: Polesitter Jason Utter of Columbus Junction, Iowa, outdueled Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, for a $3,000 victory on the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series. Utter and Simpson battled side-by-side over the final five laps, with Utter gaining command when Simpson jumped over the turn-two berm on the white flag lap.
Key notes: Jason Rauen of Farley, Iowa, spun on the second lap to draw the 40-lappers's first of three stoppages. ... Utter led the opening 11 laps before Terry Neal grabbed command. ... Utter went back past Neal on the 13th lap as Chad Simpson, who started 14th, climbed to second shortly after. ... Jason Jaggers of Wyanet, Ill., brought out a lap-18 caution. ... On the ensuing restart, Simpson launched to the lead. ... Rauen brought out a red flag on lap 35 after when he barrel rolled; no injuries were reported. ... Simpson and Utter battled side-by-side for the win following the restart, with Utter gaining command when Simpson jumped over the turn-two berm on the white flag lap. ... The Cedar County stop marked the series first standalone event since May 10.
On the move: Simpson rallied from the 14th but was forced to settled for second; Iowa standout Justin Kay of Wheatland, Iowa, rebounded from the 23rd starting position to finish ninth.
Winner's sponsors: Utter's No. 31 MasterSbilt has a Pro Power Racing Engine and is sponsored by Cox Design, Metal Fabrication, Laser Processing Inc., Louisa Gold Farms, P&L Transportation, BLT Farms, Brown Bros. Enterprises, Wehr's Machine, Cen-Pe-Co, Mendenhall Inc., Skubal Electric, Wrap'd Dynamic Decals, Fast Track Photos and Walters Web Design.
Points chase: Following the event, Chad Simpson has 319 points to lead brother Chris Simpson by 68 points; Chris did not enter Friday's program and instead competed in Fairbury (Ill.) American Legion Speedway's 25th annual Prairie Dirt Classic.
Car count: 23
Polesitter: Jason Utter
Dash winner: Jason Utter
Heat race winners: Jason Rauen, Jason Utter, Spencer Diercks
Next series race: July 26, Lafayette County Speedway (Darlington, WI) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information