Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/05/2023 20:39:17

Sponsor 743
April 27
Caney Valley Speedway,
Caney, KS
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association - $3,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated April 30, 2:11 pm)
Vaught tops Moyer for Caney Valley victory
  1. Will Vaught
  2. Billy Moyer Jr.
  3. Mitch McGrath
  4. Payton Looney
  5. Logan Martin
  6. Joe Gorby
  7. Jake Neal
  8. Gary Gorby
  9. Jacob Magee
  10. Mark Daye
  11. Clyde Ward
  12. David Young
  13. Marvin Jones
  14. Jason Anderson
  15. Gene Hogan
  16. Dustin Bolster
  17. Cory Green
  18. Shannon Phillips
  19. Richard Shepler
  20. Al Purkey
  21. Curt Acker
  22. Jeremy Grady
  23. Jesse Stovall
presented by
Todd Boyd/photosbyboyd.smugmug.com
Will Vaught heads to his first MLRA victory of the season.
What won the race: Seventh-starting Will Vaught of Crane, Mo., grabbed the lead on a lap-two restart and then held off fifth-starting Billy Moyer Jr. to win Saturday's Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association feature at Caney Valley Speedway. Vaught earned $3,000 for his first series win of the season. Mitch McGrath, who started ninth, finished third.
Quotable: "This is our fourth race of the year and I had never seen Caney, Kansas before, but I love it now,” said Vaught. “My car didn't feel good all night, and I kind of just had to man handle it there. We've got a lot of work to do to this thing, but we still won the race and we will go into next week with a lot of momentum now."
Key notes: Will Vaught finished .870 seconds ahead of Billy Moyer Jr., of Batesville, Ark. … Eleven of the 23 starters completed all 40 circuits. … Polesitter Al Purkey of led the first lap, but both Moyer Jr. and Vaught drove by on the restart. … After contact between Vaught and Moyer Jr., Vaught assumed control and led the rest of the way. … Vaught has 14 career MLRA victories and has won four of the last six series races dating back to last season. He moved to 13th on the tour’s all-time win list. … Eighth-starting Jesse Stovall of Billings, Mo., was the first to retire. He was credited with 23rd. … Blair Nothdurft of Sioux Falls, S.D., scratched from the main event. … Casey Valley was the second stop of the Lucas Oil MLRA’s weekend doubleheader following Friday’s event at Thunderbird Speedway in Muskogee, Okla., which was won by Earl Pearson Jr., of Jacksonville, Fla. … The series returned to Caney Valley for the first time in nearly 23 years, making its second-ever visit to quarter-mile oval located just across the Oklahoma-Kansas border. … Rex McCroskey of Springfield, Mo., won the tour’s only previous visit in July 1996.
On the move: Mitch McGrath started ninth and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: Vaught's Rocket Chassis is powered by a Scott Bailey Racing Engine and sponsored by Johnson's Service Station, Wright Asphalt Products, Keyser Manufacturing, Integra Racing Shocks and GW Performance.
Points chase: After four events, Will Vaught (384 points) of Crane, Mo., leads Mitch McGrath (338), Payton Looney (326), Logan Martin (324) and Jesse Stovall (300).
Current weather: Clear, 59°F
Car count: 24
Polesitter: Al Purkey
Heat race winners: Jeremy Grady, Gary Gorby, Payton Looney
Next series race: August 31, Lucas Oil Speedway (Wheatland, MO) $5,075
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Purkey, Grady
Row 2: G. Gorby, Looney
Row 3: Moyer Jr., Magee
Row 4: Vaught, Stovall
Row 5: McGrath, Neal
Row 6: Martin, Daye
Row 7: J. Gorby, Acker
Row 8: Bolster, Ward
Row 9: Phillips, Young
Row 10: Green, Jones
Row 11: Anderson, Shepler
Row 12: Hogan, Nothdurft

Sponsor 985
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information