Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/05/2023 21:16:31

Sponsor 743
April 20
Cedar County Raceway,
Tipton, IA
Sanction: IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series - $2,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated April 23, 11:07 am)
Kay claims $2,000 victory at Cedar County
  1. Justin Kay
  2. Andy Eckrich
  3. Jeremiah Hurst
  4. Tyler Bruening
  5. Ryan Dolan
  6. Joe Zrostlik
  7. Andy Nezworski
  8. Matt Ryan
  9. Curt Martin
  10. Tommy Elston
  11. Chad Holladay
  12. Tim Simpson
  13. Terry Neal
  14. Joel Callahan
  15. Luke Merfeld
  16. Todd Malmstrom
  17. Dalton Simonsen
  18. Lee Kinsella
  19. Paul Nagle
  20. Darrel DeFrance
  21. Todd Van Tassel
  22. Brian Harris
  23. Doug Nigh
  24. B.J. Jackson
presented by
Scott Swenson
Justin Kay maintained his series dominance at Cedar County.
What won the race: Sixth-starting Justin Kay of Wheatland, Iowa, overtook polesitter Andy Eckrich after a lap-12 restart and raced to a $2,000 Deery Brothers Summer Series victory Saturday at Cedar County Raceway. Kay won his fifth consecutive series race at his home track.
Quotable: “There’s just something about Cedar County. I love racing there,” Kay said. “I figured out how to make the middle line work. It was just a fun night overall. Last year we started off with three wins in a row and then didn’t get another one the rest of the season. It’s pretty cool to start this year out with a win.”
Key notes: Kay, the reigning series champion, has won series races at Cedar County in 2014, '15, '16 and '18. ... He's the first driver to win five straight series races at the same track (Mark Burgtorf won four in a row at Lee County Speedway from 1998-'00). ... Kay has 28 career series victories. ... Brian Harris ('13) is the last series winner at Cedar County not named Kay. ... Andy Eckrich settled for second in the 50-lapper.
On the move: Joe Zrostlik of Long Grove, Iowa, started 17th and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Kay's MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by Hoker Trucking, Peterson Insurance, Nutrien Ag Solutions, Wehrs Machine, Wheatland Auto Body and Mycogen Seeds.
Points chase: Kay grabbed the early Deery Brothers Summer Series points lead.
Current weather: Clear, 58°F
Car count: 36
Polesitter: Andy Eckrich
Heat race winners: Ryan Dolan, Matt Ryan, Dalton Simonsen, Justin Kay
Consolation race winners: B.J. Jackson, Chad Holladay
Next series race: April 27, Independence Motor Speedway (Independence, IA) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: A. Eckrich, Hurst
Row 2: Nezworski, Simonsen
Row 3: Bruening, Kay
Row 4: Elston, Ryan
Row 5: Simpson, Dolan
Row 6: Martin, Neal
Row 7: Jackson, Holladay
Row 8: Callahan, Harris
Row 9: Zrostlik, DeFrance
Row 10: Nigh, Malstrom
Row 11: Merfeld, Nagle
Row 12: Van Tassel, Kinsella

Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information