Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/05/2023 20:20:47

Sponsor 743
April 19
Davenport Speedway,
Davenport, IA
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association - $5,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated April 20, 1:27 pm)
Junghans earns $5,000, first career MLRA victory
  1. Chase Junghans
  2. Hudson O'Neal
  3. Jordan Yaggy
  4. Chad Simpson
  5. Chris Simpson
  6. Will Vaught
  7. Bobby Pierce
  8. Brian Shirley
  9. Jesse Stovall
  10. Kyle Bronson
  11. Dennis Erb Jr.
  12. Logan Martin
  13. Payton Looney
  14. Jason Feger
  15. Mitch McGrath
  16. Jake Neal
  17. J.C. Wyman
  18. Justin Reed
  19. Joe Gorby
  20. Jay Johnson
  21. Jonathan Brauns
  22. Jeremy Grady
  23. Dave Eckrich
  24. Skip Frey
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Chase Jungans earned $5,000 for his first career MLRA victory.
What won the race: Taking the lead on the opening lap and never looking back, polesitter Chase Junghans of Manhattan, Kan., led all 30 laps Friday at Davenport Speedway for his first career MLRA victory. Davenport finished three lengths ahead of fourth-starting Hudson O’Neal while Jordan Yaggy was third. Junghans earned $5,000.
Quotable: "We have been working hard on it. We got our butts kicked a couple weeks ago at Farmer City, so my guys have been working really hard at the shop, I just can't thank them guys enough,” Junghans said. “It definitely feels good to get the first win of the year, hopefully we can start ticking them off. The racetrack was great … hopefully we can do it again tomorrow.”
Key notes: Fifth-starting Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., charged to second, but surrendered the runner-up spot on lap 15 because of a flat right rear tire. Pierce pitted and returned to finish seventh. … The race was slowed by two cautions, both on lap 15. Jeremy Grady of Story City, Iowa, lost a left front wheel to bring out the first yellow and Pierce slowed to a stop on the restart with a flat to draw the second caution. … In his first race of the season, Yaggy, of Rochester, Minn., recorded his first MLRA podium finish since 2016. … The race kicked off the MLRA season. … The tour moves Saturday to 34 Raceway in West Burlington, Iowa, where every lap of the $10,555-to-win Slocum 50 will stream live on DirtonDirt.com for all subscribers.
On the move: Kyle Bronson of Brandon, Fla., started 22nd and finished 10th.
Winner's sponsors: Junghans drives a Rocket Chassis with a Clements Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from Shop Quik Convenience Stores, Sunoco Race Fuels, Bozard Ford & Lincoln, Junghans Discount Liquor, Keyser Mfg., Paulson Rock Products an Stussy Construction.
Points chase: Junghans grabbed the MLRA tour points lead after one event.
Current weather: Sunny, 61°F
Car count: 26
Polesitter: Chase Junghans
Heat race winners: Will Vaught, Jordan Yaggy, Chase Junghans
Next series race: August 31, Lucas Oil Speedway (Wheatland, MO) $5,075
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Junghans, Vaught
Row 2: Yaggy, O'Neal
Row 3: Pierce, Grady
Row 4: Cha. Simpson, Erb Jr.
Row 5: Stovall, Neal
Row 6: Chr. Simpson, Martin
Row 7: Shirley, Looney
Row 8: Johnson, McGrath
Row 9: Brauns, Reed
Row 10: Frey, Gorby
Row 11: Feger, Bronson
Row 12: Wyman, Eckrich

Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information