Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/24/2022 12:36:53

Sponsor 743
July 22
Eldora Speedway,
Rossburg, OH
Sanction: Sunoco American Late Model Series East (Tuesday Night Tailgate) - $2,000
Information provided by: Track reports (last updated July 24, 8:53 am)
Casebolt wins Eldora's Tuesday Night Tailgate
Tuesday Night Tailgate
  1. Steve Casebolt
  2. Jeep Van Wormer
  3. Matt Miller
  4. Bobby Pierce
  5. Duane Chamberlain
  6. Justin Rattliff
  7. Rusty Schlenk
  8. Jon Henry
  9. Curtis Roberts
  10. Jacob Hawkins
  11. Brian Ruhlman
  12. Jerry Bowersock
  13. Aaron Scott
  14. Jamie Oldfield
  15. Brandon Thirlby
  16. Phil Ausra
  17. Herb Reich
  18. Jody Knowles
  19. Jeff Babcock
  20. Dona Marcoullier
  21. Ryan VanderVeen
presented by
James MacDonald/apexonephoto.com
Steve Casebolt told Dustin Jarrett about his 25-lap victory.
What won the race: Using a lap-19 slide job to take the lead from Jeep Van Wormer, fifth-starting Steve Casebolt of Richmond, Ind., raced to a caution-free 25-lap victory in his second start in a Club 29 Race Car. He earned $2,000 for his fifth career ALMS victory — and first since 2007 — in outrunning Van Wormer and Matt Miller.
Key notes: Casebolt's victory was his first at Eldora since the 2007 Dream. ... Casebolt debuted his new car July 8 at Florence Speedway in Union, Ky., finishing ninth in a UMP DIRTcar Summernationals race won by Jason Jameson. ... Casebolt's previous series victory came June 1, 2007, in Gas City, Ind. ... The fourth-starting Van Wormer took the lead at the outset, but he brushed the wall on lap 16, allowing Miller and Casebolt to close in and setting up the race's only lead change. ... Polesitter Justin Rattliff of Campbellsville, Ky., slipped back to finish sixth. ... Ten cars finished on the lead lap. ... The late addition to the series schedule (ALMS East and West) puts a spotlight on the series during Eldora's second hosting of the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. ... The ALMS event is on truck practice night while Eldora is also hosting an invitational-only Late Model race Wednesday, also paying $2,000-to-win (an independent event under UMP DIRTcar rules).
On the move: Brian Ruhlman started 21st and finished 11th.
Winner's sponsors: Casebolt's Cornett-powered Club 29 Race Car is sponsored by Arizona Sport Shirts, D&D Automotive, Preferred Sandblasting & Painting and Sudz Car Wash.
Points chase: Heading into the race, Brandon Thirlby of Traverse City, Mich., led ALMS East points; Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., led ALMS West points.
Car count: 21
Fast qualifier: Jeep Van Wormer
Time: 16.400 seconds
Polesitter: Justin Rattliff
Heat race winners: Justin Rattliff, Duane Chamberlain, Jon Henry
Next series race: August 2, Oakshade Raceway (Wauseon, OH) $2,000
Editor's note: Updates with Casebolt's engine builder.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Rattliff, Chamberlain
Row 2: Henry, Van Wormer
Row 3: Casebolt, Miller
Row 4: Pierce, Schlenk
Row 5: Babcock, VanderVeen
Row 6: Marcoullier, Bowersock
Row 7: J. Knowles, Scott
Row 8: Jacob Hawkins, Oldfield
Row 9: Ausra, Roberts
Row 10: Reich, Thirlby
Row 11: Ruhlman
Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728