Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/28/2024 16:28:00

Sponsor 743
April 6
I-80 Speedway,
Greenwood, NE
Sanction: Malvern Bank Series (Spring Meltdown) - $4,000
Information provided by: Scott McBride along with series and track reports (last updated April 8, 8:25 am)
Malvern Bank first-timer grabs $4,000 at I-80
Spring Meltdown
  1. Nick Deal
  2. Josh Leonard
  3. Brian Kosiski
  4. Bill Leighton Jr.
  5. Andrew Kosiski
  6. Dylan Smith
  7. Scott Ward
  8. Corey Zeitner
  9. Tad Pospisil
  10. Kyle Berck
  11. Jason O'Brien
  12. Josh Krug
  13. Allan Hopp
  14. Ben Schaller
  15. Cory Dumpert
  16. Blair Nothdurft
  17. Jeremy Grady
  18. Brad Perdue
  19. Dylan Schmer
  20. Zach Zeitner
  21. Ben Sukup
  22. Robbie Andersen
  23. Troy Daly
  24. Curt Schroeder
  25. Eric Vanosdall
  26. Gary Brown Jr.
presented by
Todd Boyd/photosbyboyd.smugmug.com
Nick Deal heads to victory in his first career series feature.
What won the race: Nick Deal of Harlan, Iowa, outran threatening rain in the Malvern Bank Super Late Model Series opener at I-80 Speedway on Saturday to capture his first career victory in what was his family-owned team's debut on the regional tour. Defeating fourth-starting Josh Leonard, Deal pocketed a $4,000 payday for his victory in the Spring Meltdown's 25-lap feature.
Key notes: Deal started fifth and took the lead from Corey Zeitner on the ninth lap. ... Deal began his memorable weekend by inheriting the $1,000 top prize in Friday's first qualifying feature after apparent victor Dylan Smith's Al Humphrey-owned No. 6 was disqualified in postrace tech inspection. (Tad Pospisil, Corey Zeitner and Brian Kosiski finished second through fourth to transfer to Saturday's finale.). ... Andrew Kosiski won Friday's second $1,000 qualifying feature (over transfers Josh Leonard, Bill Leighton Jr. and Jason O'Brien). ... There was a frontstretch pileup at the outset of Friday's second race; no one was injured. ... Kyle Berck, who entered the weekend having won six of the last seven Malvern Bank features at I-80, finished 10th in Saturday's A-main. ... Tad Pospisil set fast time on Friday in a new Sweet-Bloomquist Race Car before finishing ninth in Saturday's finale.
On the move: Allan Hopp of Harlan, Iowa, started 23rd and finished 13th.
Winner's sponsors: Deal's Black Diamond Chassis has a Shepherd Engine Development powerplant and is sponsored by Prairie Rose Sign & Canopy, Nebraska-Iowa Supply Co., Allstar Tire, Chadwick Towing, Kendall Oil, Sardeson Racing and Monster Graphix.
Points chase: Deal grabbed the early points lead with his victory.
Current weather: Cloudy with Light Rain, 62°F
Car count: 34
Fast qualifier: Tad Pospisil
Time: 17.773 seconds
Polesitter: Corey Zeitner
Heat race winners: Jeremy Grady, Scott Ward, Ben Schaller, Kyle Berck
Consolation race winners: Brad Perdue, Cory Dumpert
Next series race: April 19, Marshalltown Speedway (Marshalltown, IA) $2,000
Editor's note: Clarifies that Deal made his first series start for his family-backed team.

Feature lineup

Row 1: C. Zeitner, Leighton
Row 2: Pospisil, Leonard
Row 3: Deal, A. Kosiski
Row 4: B. Kosiski, O'Brien
Row 5: Smith, Schaller
Row 6: Berck, Grady
Row 7: Ward, Brown Jr.
Row 8: Nothdurft, Krug
Row 9: Vanosdall, Sukup
Row 10: Perdue, Dumpert
Row 11: Andersen, Schmer
Row 12: Hopp, Schroeder
Row 13: Z. Zeitner, Daly
Sponsor 1272
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information