Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 08/11/2020 11:10:46

Sponsor 743
March 24
Port Royal Speedway,
Port Royal, PA
Sanction: Zimmer's United Late Model Series
Information provided by: Track and series reports (last updated March 25, 10:01 am)
Norris takes Port Royal for first ULMS victory
  1. Michael Norris
  2. Gregg Satterlee
  3. Mason Zeigler
  4. Max Blair
  5. Mike Maresca
  6. Dylan Yoder
  7. Rick Eckert
  8. Jason Covert
  9. Austin Hubbard
  10. Jeff Rine
  11. Tyler Bare
  12. Matt Cosner
  13. Justin Weaver
  14. Andy Haus
  15. Alex Ferree
  16. Mike Wonderling Jr.
  17. Kyle Lee
  18. Mike Lupfer
  19. Dave Brouse Jr.
  20. Tim Smith Jr.
  21. Donald Lingo Jr.
  22. Chad Myers
  23. Jason Dobson
  24. Michael Lake
  25. Mike Pegher Jr.
  26. Ross Robinson
  27. Al Brewer
  28. Gene Knaub
presented by
Rick Neff
Michael Norris smiles in victory lane after his first-ever ULMS victory at Port Royal.
What won the race: Overtaking race-long leader Austin Hubbard on lap 21, sixth-starting Michael Norris of Sarver, Pa., led the rest of the way Sunday at Port Royal Speedway for his first career ULMS victory. Norris took the checkers in the 30-lap feature 1.345 seconds ahead of 10th-starting Gregg Satterlee and earned $3,000.
Quotable: "It feels to shake this car down. We had a bad wreck in Florida with it and I was skeptical to make sure it was still good. Obviously it's fitting my liking pretty good," Norris said. "I can't say enough about this track. It doesn't get much better than that. You could've went high, low, middle."
Key notes: Norris notched his first victory of 2019; his previous win came Aug. 24, 2018, at his hometown Lernerville Speedway. ... Austin Hubbard got squeezed into the turn-two fence on a restart and slipped back to finish ninth after leading 20 laps. ... Dylan Yoder's No. 24 car had problems in prelims, forcing him off the pole in the third heat. But he climbed into his father Jim's No. 27 and rallied to win from the tail. ... Jason Covert of York Haven, Pa., who won Saturday's ULMS opener, finished eighth Sunday. ... Sunday's feature was slowed by three cautions: first for Mike Pegher Jr. (turn-four spin on lap 16); then for a three-car tangle among Donald Lingo Jr., Mike Wonderling Jr. and Tim Smith Jr. (turn two on lap 17); and finally for Michael Lake (stopped on backstretch on lap 25). ... Twenty-two drivers completed 30 laps. ... Because of the turnout of Late Models and fans, the track boosted March 30's Super Late Model purse to $3,000-to-win.
On the move: Gregg Satterlee of Indiana, Pa., started 10th and finished second.
Winner's sponsors: Norris drives a Rocket Chassis powered by a Gary Henry Racing Engine and sponsored by D&D Auto Salvage, Millerstown Pic-A-Part, Wood’s Rod & Custom, Integra Racing Shocks and Hoosier Tire.
Points chase: Jason Covert entered Sunday's action as the ULMS points leader.
Current weather: Partly Cloudy, 52°F
Car count: 47
Fast qualifier: Rick Eckert
Time: 18.845 seconds
Polesitter: Dylan Yoder
Heat race winners: Rick Eckert, Jason Covert, Dylan Yoder, Michael Norris, Mason Zeigler, Austin Hubbard
Consolation race winners: Alex Ferree, Mike Lupfer, Mike Pegher Jr.
Next series race: March 29, Williams Grove Speedway (Mechanicsburg, PA) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: D. Yoder, Hubbard
Row 2: Covert, Zeigler
Row 3: Eckert, Norris
Row 4: Blair, Lingo
Row 5: Cosner, Satterlee
Row 6: Lee, Maresca
Row 7: Knaub, Smith
Row 8: Myers, Rine
Row 9: Weaver, Bare
Row 10: Ferree, Lupfer
Row 11: Pehger, Lake
Row 12: Robinson, Brouse
Row 13: M. Wonderling, Haus
Row 14: Dobson, Brewer

Sponsor 896
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728