Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1119
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 08/05/2020 05:01:52

Sponsor 743
March 16
Red Dirt Raceway,
Meeker, OK
Sanction: Sooner Late Model Series - $750
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated March 18, 9:57 am)
Hughes dominates Red Dirt's Sooner opener
  1. Kip Hughes
  2. Kyle Sweeney
  3. Damian Patocka
  4. Bobby McGehee Jr.
  5. Steve Hawkins
  6. Sammy Wilson
  7. John Somers
  8. Eric Brill
  9. Wayne Bush
  10. Johnny Reed
  11. Jim Hardison
  12. Jason Redman
  13. Zach Nickell
  14. Nate Jantz
presented by
Mke Howard
Kip Hughes and his crew in victory lane at Red Dirt Raceway.
What won the race: Picking up where he left off last season, reigning Sooner Late Model Series champion Kip Hughes of Enid, Okla., dominated Saturday's 20-lap tour opener at Red Dirt Raceway. He grabbed the lead from outside the front row and never looked back en route to a $750 triumph over Kyle Sweeney.
Key notes: Hughes tallied his series-leading seventh career Sooner win. He won five of last year's 13 events, including three of the last four on his way to the series title. ... Hughes was victorious using his 604 Crate engine tuned by Dunsworth Machine. ... Sweeney overtook polesitter Damian Patocka for second late in the distance; Patocka settled for third. ... Jason Redman swapped the second spot with Patocka several times before coming to a stop on lap five, triggering one of the race's three caution flags. ... The event kicked off the Sooner tour's fourth season of competition.
Winner's sponsors: Hughes’s Marker Motorsports Barry Wright Race Car carries sponsorship from Hot Shot Power Washing, Mac Tools by Danny Stratton, Grand Garage, Knockout Graphics, Jerry Bergman Tax and Accounting,Tony Jackson Jr. Racing and Dunsworth Machine.
Points chase: Hughes grabbed the early points lead as he seeks a second straight title.
Car count: 14
Polesitter: Damian Patocka
Heat race winners: Kip Hughes, Jason Redman
Next series race: April 20, Enid Speedway (Enid, OK) $750
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728