Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/07/2022 13:14:53

Sponsor 743
July 20
Humberstone Speedway,
Port Colborne, ON
Sanction: Pace Performance RUSH Racing Series (Canadian National Late Model Championship) - $2,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated July 21, 11:45 am)
Waters rules RUSH stop at Humberstone
Canadian National Late Model Championship
  1. John Waters
  2. Ryan Montgomery
  3. Tim Gillespie
  4. Eric Wilson
  5. Jeff Dayman
  6. Rob Pietz
  7. Bryce Davis
  8. Chad Ruhlman
  9. Zack Carley
  10. Brian Knowles
  11. Rob Marhefka
  12. Ken Winfield
  13. Rob Ledingham
  14. Bill Gill
  15. Dustin Waters
  16. Chad McClellan
  17. Dennis Lunger Jr.
  18. Jorden Peters
  19. Jason Rider
  20. Luke Carleton
  21. Ed Carley
  22. Paul Grigsby
presented by
What won the race: The third of three leaders, third-starting John Waters of Whitesville, N.Y., led the final seven laps for his first RUSH touring victory. Runner-up Ryan Montgomery led twice for a total of five laps and Bryce Davis led 18 of the first 19 circuits but got caught up in Tim Gillespie's lap-24 spin.
Quotable: “I figured I’d sit back and watch the show when those three (Bryce Davis, Dennis Lunger, Jr., and Montgomery) started to battle,” the 33-year-old Waters said. “My car and the track started to come to me. I knew Ryan would run me clean, but he had me scared and I had to get back up on the wheel or he would have had me. That’s why I like this series — these guys make you a better racer.”
Key notes: Waters also earned $100 for setting fast time and $25 in the dash. ... Ryan Montgomery has finished sixth or better in the last eight tour events. ... Several early cautions slowed the action, including one for a Dusty Waters-Luke Carleton tangle. ... Tim Gillespie's lap-24 spin in turns three and four knocked Bryce Davis and Dennis Lunger Jr. out of contention.
On the move: Despite a spin, Tim Gillespie improved from his 16th starting spot to finish third. He earned Precise Racing Products hard charger honors and $100.
Winner's sponsors: Waters drives a Dale LeBarron owned car sponsored by Troups Creek Heating, Fox Shocks, Insinger Performance and Sunoco Race Fuels.
Points chase: Montgomery entered Sunday with 754 points and a 50-point lead over Chad McClellan of Stoystown, Pa; Waters was third with 688 points and Jason Rider of Clinton, Pa., had 686 points in fourth.
Car count: 23
Fast qualifier: John Waters
Time: 15.693 seconds
Polesitter: Bryce Davis
Dash winner: Bryce Davis
Heat race winners: Dennis Lunger Jr., Paul Grigsby, Jason Rider
Next series race: August 14, McKean County Raceway (East Smethport, PA) $1,200
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728