Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1119
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 08/05/2020 05:52:59

Sponsor 743
March 16
Lancaster Speedway,
Lancaster, SC
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series (Red Rose Rumble) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated March 20, 1:16 pm)
Brown wins $5,000 Clash opener at Lancaster
Red Rose Rumble
  1. Michael Brown
  2. Ross Bailes
  3. Chris Ferguson
  4. Brett Hamm
  5. Zack Mitchell
  6. Jeff Smith
  7. Dennis Franklin
  8. Ben Watkins
  9. Derrick Ramey
  10. Adam Yarbrough
  11. Donald Bradsher
  12. David Yandle
  13. Brian Carswell
  14. Jimmy McNamara
  15. Brandon Overton
  16. Dustin Mitchell
  17. Tim Allen
  18. Johnny Pursley
  19. Chris Madden
  20. Larry Grube
  21. Anthony Sanders
  22. Kevin Godwin
presented by
James Crump
Michael Brown gets up to speed before his Lancaster victory.
What won the race: Scoring an emotional hometown victory, Michael Brown of Lancaster, S.C., overtook Brett Hamm on lap 35 and captured Saturday's 40-lap Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series opener at Lancaster Speedway. Brown streaked to his first win of the season and picked up a $5,000 payday in the Red Rose Rumble.
Quotable: “This is kinda emotional,” winner Michael Brown said. “You try so hard to get these things and they don’t come easy. I want to thank the fans for coming out. I know it’s been cold. I hope we put on a show for you.”
Key notes: Brown negotiated lapped traffic with aplomb over the final circuits to triumph by 1.645 seconds over Clover, S.C.'s Ross Bailes, who also slipped past Hamm on lap 35 to secure runner-up money in the Barry Wright Race Cars house car. ... Brown earned his second career Clash win; his previous triumph came Aug. 9, 2017, at Carolina Speedway in Gastonia, N.C. ... Hamm, who started outside the front row, ended up fourth after leading laps 1-34. ... Brandon Overton was running second on lap 25 when he clipped the wall and collected seventh-place Dustin Mitchell, knocking both drivers from contention. ... World of Outlaws regular Chris Madden retired at the race's halfway point while running second. ... Donald Bradsher returned to Super Late Model action driving the John Page-owned Longhorn; he finished 11th. ... The series returns to Lancaster on Nov. 23.
On the move: David Yandle of Monroe, N.C., started 20th and finished 12th.
Winner's sponsors: Brown drove a Billy Hicks-owned Longhorn Chassis sponsored by H&H Auto Sales and NobodyWalksVA.com.
Points chase: Ross Bailes is the reigning series champion.
Car count: 21
Fast qualifier: Dustin Mitchell
Time: 18.762 seconds
Polesitter: Dustin Mitchell
Consolation race winners: Adam Yarbrough, Dennis Franklin
Next series race: May 17, Carolina Speedway (Gastonia, NC) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: D. Mitchell, Hamm
Row 2: Overton, Madden
Row 3: Bailes, Ferguson
Row 4: Brown, Watkins
Row 5: Smith, Z. Mitchell
Row 6: Franklin, Yarborough
Row 7: Ramey, Allen
Row 8: Carswell, Pursley
Row 9: Bradsher, A. Sanders
Row 10: Burroughs, Yandle
Row 11: Mac, Godwin
Row 12: D. Sanders, Grube

Sponsor 774
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728