Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 08/05/2020 05:08:59

Sponsor 743
March 2
North Georgia Speedway,
Chatsworth, GA
Sanction: Ultimate Southeast Series - $4,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated March 4, 10:32 am)
Page repels Hiett, earns $4,000 at North Georgia
  1. Michael Page
  2. Jason Hiett
  3. Brandon Overton
  4. Shane Clanton
  5. Donald McIntosh
  6. Cory Hedgecock
  7. Riley Hickman
  8. John Ownbey
  9. Tyler Millwood
  10. Zack Mitchell
  11. Booger Brooks
  12. Ryan King
  13. Ray Cook
  14. David Payne
  15. Zach Leonhardi
  16. Michael Brown
  17. David Crabtree
  18. Bobby Giffin
  19. Jackson Hale
  20. Austin Arnold
  21. Johnny Cloer Jr.
  22. Kurt English
  23. Daulton Wilson
  24. Gary McPherson
presented by
Richard Allen
Michael Page earned $4,000 for Saturday's Ultimate Southeast Series win.
What won the race: Keeping Jason Hiett at bay as they raced through traffic, Michael Page of Douglasville, Ga., led every lap to win Saturday’s Ultimate Southeast Series season opener at North Georgia Speedway. Hiett finished 1.006 seconds back in second, while Brandon Overton finished third.
Quotable: “I knew if I messed up one time, (Jason Hiett) is a racer, so he knows what to do,” winner Michael Page said. “You just can’t give ‘em anything. Lapped cars were tough because you don’t know where to go or where they’re going. I’m just glad it worked out.”
Key notes: Page earned $4,000 for the victory, his fourth career Ultimate Southeast Series triumph. … Page also won the tour’s season-opener at North Georgia last season. … Page, who was using the CT525 engine package, said he to push his machine hard to stay ahead of Hiett: “I don’t know if I’ve ever run a race car that hard the whole race. (I) was in the fuel as wide open as I could mash it.” … Seventeen of the 24 starters completed all 40 laps. … John Ownbey of Cleveland, Tenn., returned to action for the first time since being injured in a grinding crash at 411 Speedway in Seymour, Tenn., on Dec. 29, 2018. He finished eighth. … Booger Brooks finished 11th in a Gar Dickson-backed ride. … The start of Saturday’s action was pushed back an hour due to issues with the track’s scoring system.
On the move: Shane Clanton of Zebulon, Ga., started 11th and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Page’s Stinger Race Car was powered by a CT525 engine and is sponsored by Baird Transport, Elite Concrete, Baird Towing and T&T Trucking.
Points chase: The 2019 Ultimate points chase began Saturday. Zack Mitchell of Enoree, S.C., is the reigning Ultimate Southeast champ.
Car count: 29
Fast qualifier: Michael Page
Time: 13.156 seconds
Consolation race winners: Shane Clanton, Riley Hickman
Provisional starters: Gary McPherson, Daulton Wilson
Next series race: March 23, County Line Raceway (Elm City, NC) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Hiett, Page
Row 2: Leonhardi, Overton
Row 3: King, Millwood
Row 4: Giffin, Hedgecock
Row 5: McIntosh, Brooks
Row 6: Clanton, Hickman
Row 7: Ownbey, Payne
Row 8: Hale, Brown
Row 9: Cloer Jr., Mitchell
Row 10: English, Cook
Row 11: Arnold, Crabtree
Row 12: McPherson, Wilson

Sponsor 718
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728