Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/25/2023 14:37:30

Sponsor 743
October 13
Carolina Speedway,
Gastonia, NC
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series (King of the Carolinas) - $5,000
Information provided by: Staff, track and Speed 51 reports (last updated October 15, 9:54 am)
Sweeping Bailes rules again at Carolina
King of the Carolinas
  1. Ross Bailes
  2. Jeff Smith
  3. Benji Hicks
  4. Johnny Pursley
  5. Jonathan Edwards
  6. Dennis Franklin
  7. Anthony Sanders
  8. Brian Carswell
  9. Doug Sanders
  10. Ryan Gifford
  11. Jimmy McNamara
  12. Adam Yarbrough
  13. Will Harris
  14. David Yandle
  15. Robbie Bailey
  16. Scott Shirey
  17. Timmy Rominger
  18. Jay Sessoms
  19. J.R. Yandle
  20. Larry Grube
presented by
Blake Harris
Ross Bailes gets rolling before his victory at Carolina Speedway.
What won the race: Ross Bailes of Clover, S.C., raced to his second victory on the King of the Carolinas weekend, outrunning Jeff Smith for a $5,000 Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series payday at Carolina Speedway. Bailes tuned up one night earlier in claiming a $3,000 winner's check.
Quotable: "We've got this car dialed in. Ever since we went to ML Performance, Matt Logan, I think the worst we've finished is fourth, and that was last week," said winner Ross Bailes, who started outside the front row. "So he's got this thing dialed in and all my guys have busted their butts on it."
Key notes: Leading every lap, Bailes extended his series point lead with his 13th career Carolina Clash victory and his second of 2018. ... The 40-lap, caution-free feature lasted 12 minutes and Bailes was never challenged. ... Jeff Smith took second from Johnny Pursley on the 14th lap before Benji Hicks dropped Pursley to fourth on the 40th and final circuit. ... The Gastonia oval hosted the tour for the third and final time with the penultimate Carolina Clash event. ... The series has had 338 all-time races and 75 winners. ... Cherokee Speedway in Gaffney, S.C., wraps up the tour's season with the Blue-Gray 100 on Nov. 18.
On the move: David Yandle of Monroe, N.C., started 18th and finished 14th to earn the Speed51.com Hard Charger of the Race honors.
Winner's sponsors: Bailes drives a Barry Wright Race Car is sponsored by HNO Hauling and Grading, B&A Pallet Division, D and E Marine, C&H Paving, Penske Shocks, Base Racing Fuel and DirtCarLift.com.
Points chase: After Carolina, Ross Bailes (1,253 points) leads Dennis Franklin (1,137) and has virtually locked up the points title.
Car count: 20
Fast qualifier: Ross Bailes
Time: 15.322 seconds
Polesitter: Johnny Pursley
Next series race: November 18, Cherokee Speedway (Gaffney, SC) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information