Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1259
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/19/2024 01:35:26

Sponsor 743
October 6
Greenville Speedway,
Greenville, MS
Sanction: Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series (Gumbo Nationals) - $8,000
Information provided by: Staff reports (last updated October 7, 10:57 am)
Strickler upsets MSCCS foes at Greenville
Gumbo Nationals
  1. Kyle Strickler
  2. Chad Thrash
  3. Brian Rickman
  4. B.J. Robinson
  5. Robbie Stuart
  6. Dane Dacus
  7. Shay Knight
  8. Eric Cooley
  9. Jon Mitchell
  10. Hunter Rasdon
  11. Derrick Nichols
  12. Shane Stephens
  13. Bubba Harrison
  14. Tommy Surrett
  15. Rick Rickman
  16. Chandler Petty
  17. Josh Putnam
  18. Terry Wilson
  19. Tyler Erb
  20. Scott Abraham
  21. Neil Baggett
  22. Mike Palasini Jr.
  23. Christopher Reid
  24. Shelby Sheedy
presented by
What won the race: Making a rare appearance in a Late Model, modified standout Kyle Strickler of Mooresville, N.C., topped Chad Thrash to win Saturday’s Gumbo Nationals at Greenville Speedway. The 11th-starting Strickler earned $8,000 for his first career Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series victory while making a guest appearance in the Lance Landers-owned machine normally driven by Gavin Landers.
Key notes: Strickler led a single lap early and then took the lead for good when early pace setter Rick Rickman slowed with a flat rear tire. … The winner finished .369 seconds ahead of Thrash, who started 16th. … It was the second big weekend in a row for Strickler, who pocketed $20,000 last weekend by winning the second annual Race For Hope 74 at Batesville (Ark.) Speedway, an event hosted by Mark Martin. … Saturday’s program was delayed a couple hours due to a late afternoon rain shower. … Thirteen of the 24 starters finished the race with 10 completing all 70 laps. ... Series title contender Neil Baggett completed only four laps and finished 21st. … Polesitter Rick Rickman finished 15th. … The 12th annual Gumbo Nationals was split into two separate events, with Friday’s 30-lap opener paying $4,000 to win and Saturday’s 70-lap finale paying $8,000 to win. … Friday winner Tyler Erb of New Waverly, Texas, finished 19th after pulling off with mechanical trouble and completing only nine laps.
On the move: The winning Strickler started 11th and runner-up Chad Thrash rallied from 16th.
Winner's sponsors: Strickler’s Double L Motorsports-backed Longhorn Chassis is powered by Durham Racing Engines and sponsored by Nutrien Ag Solutions, ASC Warranty, Mark Martin Automotive, Spartan Mowers, Valvoline, Mega Plumbing of the Carolinas and Midwest Sheet Metal.
Points chase: Chad Thrash of Meridian, Miss., won the series championship.
Car count: 37
Fast qualifier: Brian Rickman
Time: 14.863 seconds
Polesitter: Rick Rickman
Heat race winners: Rick Rickman, Jon Mitchell, Josh Putnam, Dane Dacus
Consolation race winners: Eric Cooley, Chandler Petty
Provisional starters: Robbie Stuart, Shelby Sheedy
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: R. Rickman, Mitchell
Row 2: Putnam, Dacus
Row 3: Rasdon, Wilson
Row 4: Surrett, Stephens
Row 5: B. Rickman, Robinson
Row 6: Strickler, Harrison
Row 7: Abraham, Reed
Row 8: Erb, Thrash
Row 9: Cooley, Petty
Row 10: Baggett, Showah
Row 11: Nichols, Knight
Row 12: Stuart, Sheedy

Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information