Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/06/2022 04:57:01

Sponsor 743
October 6
Midway Speedway,
Crooksville, OH
Sanction: Unsanctioned special events (Jim Dunn Memorial ) - $10,000
Information provided by: Track reports (last updated October 7, 11:50 am)
Moran wins Midway's Jim Dunn Memorial
Jim Dunn Memorial
  1. Devin Moran
  2. Mike Benedum
  3. Brent Larson
  4. Eddie Carrier Jr.
  5. Colten Burdette
  6. David Scott
  7. Josh Hall
  8. Ryan Markham
  9. Jared Hawkins
  10. Craig Wolford
  11. Ronnie Mayle
  12. Allen Weisser
  13. Jeremy Berwanger
  14. Tyler Carpenter
  15. Kevin Smith
  16. Michael Lake
  17. Zack Dohm
  18. Cody Endlich
  19. T.J. Watson
presented by
Tyler Carr
Devin Moran earned $10,000 in Midway's Jim Dunn Memorial.
What won the race: Leading the entire 60-lap distance, outside polesitter Devin Moran of Dresden, Ohio, outran fellow front-row starter Mike Benedum of Salem, W.Va., to capture a $10,000 victory in Midway Speedway's unsanctioned Jim Dunn Memorial.
On the move: Brent Larson of Lake Elmo, Minn., started 13th and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: Moran’s Tye Twarog Racing Rocket Chassis is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and sponsored by Tommy Pope Construction, DMR Driving School, Keyser Mfg., Innovative Graphics, Accu-Force Shock & Dynos, Dow Cameron Oil and Gas, Lias Tire, Performance Bodies, Kendrick Excavating and Eddie’s Dow Cameron Oil & Gas.
Car count: 37
Fast qualifier: Mike Benedum
Time: 13.694 seconds
Polesitter: Mike Benedum
Heat race winners: Mike Benedum, Devin Moran, Ronnie Mayle, Allen Weisser
Consolation race winners: Brent Larson, Craig Wolford
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
From staff reports

CROOKSVILLE, Ohio (Oct. 6) — His father Donnie is a six-time Jim Dunn Memorial winner. And on Saturday night, Devin Moran of Dresden, Ohio, added his name to the annual event’s record books, scoring a $10,000 unsanctioned victory at Midway Speedway.

Charging to the front of the field at the drop of the green flag, second-starting Moran led the entire 60-lap distance, outrunning fellow front-row starter Mike Benedum of Salem, W.Va., to win the race honoring the inaugural Dirt Track World Championship victor.

“We’ve been running really well, we just haven’t figured out how to get in victory lane consistently enough yet,” Moran said after the race. “It’s definitely an awesome feeling. I’ve raced in this race I don’t know how many times. My dad’s won it so many times and I’ve never won it before. I’ve led and everything else. It’s pretty cool to finally win it.”

Successfully navigating lapped traffic, Moran was never seriously challenged up front, pulling away in the final laps to capture his third victory of the 2018 season.

“It’s awesome,” Moran said of his victory. “We thought about going to Pittsburgh. But (Midway) is so close to home and I love coming here and racing. I’ve won a couple of races here. It’s fun to come to this place to race.”

After clocking the night’s quick time and winning his heat race to start on the pole, Benedum notched a runner-up finish. Brent Larson of Lake Elmo, Minn., ran third, with Eddie Carrier Jr. of Salt Rock, W.Va., finishing fourth. Colten Burdette of Parkersburg, W.Va., rounded out the top five.

While Benedum was able to keep pace with Moran on restarts, he was never able to make a pass for the lead.

“We were biding our time there for a long time,” Benedum said. “(Moran) got a good start on the initial start. I’d aggravate him a little bit on some of those restarts. I thought maybe we’d be able to catch him in lapped traffic. But towards the end my car went away a little bit and he was still pretty stout.”

Rallying from the 13th starting spot, Larson, a World of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series Rookie of the Year contender, notched one of his best finishes of the 2018 season in his first-ever appearance at Midway.

“It’s not too bad,” Larson said. “We come from 13th there, passed a few cars and (we are) happy about it. I can’t complain. … The track got pretty racy there. I had my concerns earlier with the rain. But it came right around.”

Notes: Moran scored his third victory of the 2018 season, his first since July's Prairie Dirt Classic at Fairbury (Ill.) American Legion Speedway. ... In the last six Late Model events Moran has entered, he's finished no worse than fourth. ... Midway hosted the 36th annual Jim Dunn Memorial, honoring the the inaugural Dirt Track World Championship winner from Roseville, Ohio. … The event began in 1983 and has been run at four different tracks. ... The race was reset for Oct. 6 after its original May date was rained out. ... Moran's father Donnie is a six-time Jim Dunn Memorial winner. His most recent victory in the annual event came in 2008.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728