Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/07/2022 09:55:29

Sponsor 743
September 29
Berlin Raceway,
Marne, MI
Sanction: American Ethanol Late Model Tour (DIRTcar) - $6,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated September 30, 7:44 am)
Bell ends Van Wormer's Berlin hot streak
  1. Rich Bell
  2. Jeep Van Wormer
  3. Nick Kurtz
  4. Dona Marcoullier
  5. Brandon Thirlby
  6. Rich Neiser
  7. Kevin Reeve
  8. David Hilliker
  9. Eric Spangler
  10. Travis Stemler
  11. Andrew Terrill
  12. Jason Playter Jr.
  13. Ryan VanderVeen
  14. Scott Fisk
  15. Mike Spatola
  16. Phil Ausra
  17. Scott Wenell
  18. Bill Bray
  19. Logan Arntz
  20. Bob Timmer
  21. Mike Luberda
  22. Bob Bray
presented by
Jim DenHamer
Rich Bell celebrates his career-high $6,000 payday at Berlin.
What won the race: Rich Bell of Sheffield, Ill., overtook Jeep Van Wormer on a restart with three laps remaining Saturday for a $6,000 victory in the American Ethanol Late Model Tour finale at Berlin Raceway. In a rain-plagued race, the sixth-starting Bell denied Van Wormer a sweep of three straight Saturdays of tour action on Berlin's dirt-covered asphalt.
Quotable: "It was starting to come in good there before that caution, and then I thought we were done (as raindrops fell), so I was kinda down about that," winner Rich Bell said. "Man, when we took off green, I knew we had something good. I just can't thank all my sponsors and my family (enough) for all they do for me. I couldn't do it without 'em."
Key notes: Bell made an outside move on a lap-48 restart, going around Nick Kurtz and leader Jeep Van Wormer in one fell swoop. ... Bell has three career Ethanol Tour victories; the previous wins came in 2016 at Mount Pleasant and Thunderbird. ... Brandon Thirlby's fifth-place finish was good enough to wrap up the Ethanol tour championship. ... The 50-lap feature was run through off and on rain and there was a 40-minute delay with 22 laps remaining. ... Jeep Van Wormer took the lead from polesitter and early leader Mike Spatola on the 16th lap; Spatola retired four laps later. ... Ten cars completed 50 laps.
On the move: Rich Neiser of Fruitport, Mich., started 10th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Bell's No. 21B is sponsored by Deegan's Garagage, Hunderman & Sons Redi Mix, Pylman Power, Masterpiece Transportation, Busses and More, Laurie and Kevin Glieden, Starved Rock Wood Products, Readus and Dorothy Quickle, and Fastlane Graphics.
Points chase: Brandon Thirlby (754) of Traverse City, Mich., wrapped up the Ethanol Tour title.
Car count: 22
Heat race winners: Dona Marcoullier, Kevin Reeve, Travis Stemler
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Spatola, Kurtz
Row 2: Thirlby, Van Wormer
Row 3: Reeve, Bell
Row 4: Marcoullier, Stemler
Row 5: Arntz, Neiser
Row 6: VanderVeen, Spangler
Row 7: Ausra, Terrill
Row 8: Hilliker, Luberda
Row 9: Bi. Bray, Fisk
Row 10: Wenell, Playter Jr.
Row 11: Timmer, Bo. Bray

Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728