Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1264
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/22/2023 22:50:54

Sponsor 743
September 28
Tri-City Speedway,
Granite City, IL
Sanction: DIRTcar Racing (non-touring) (Summit Mod Mania) - $2,500
Information provided by: Patrick Davis and track reports (last updated September 29, 11:09 am)
Birky's back, wins $2,500 Tri-City special
Summit Mod Mania
  1. Brian Birkhofer
  2. Chris Simpson
  3. Brian Shirley
  4. Jason Feger
  5. Dane Dacus
  6. Tim Manville
  7. Gordy Gundaker
  8. Allen Weisser
  9. Shannon Babb
  10. Brian Diveley
  11. Rickey Frankel
  12. Logan Martin
  13. Billy Laycock
  14. Daryn Klein
  15. Rusty Griffaw
  16. Ken Rumble
  17. Collin Alexander
  18. Paul Roider
  19. Mike Hammerle
  20. Daniel Jacober
  21. Kent Robinson
presented by
Jimmy Dearing/stlracingphotos.com
Brian Birkhofer carries the checkers on the Tri-City frontstretch.
What won the race: Outside front-row starter Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, Iowa, dominated all 35 laps Friday at Tri-City Speedway for a $2,500 victory in the Late Model portion of Summit Mod Mania. Birkhofer topped fellow Iowan Chris Simpson and sixth-starting Brian Shirley.
Key notes: The 46-year-old Birkhofer ran unchallenged in his Jason Rauen-owned car. ... He scored his first victory since the 2014 15th Lucas Oil Late Model Knoxville Nationals at Knoxville (Iowa) Raceway. ... He's been idle mostly since after shutting down his racing operation after that Knoxville victory. ... DIRTcar Late Models were on the undercard of the 14th annual Summit Racing UMP Modified Mania Dirt Nationals for the second of three nights. ... Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, Ill., won Thursday’s opener as he swept both the Late Model and the modified main events. … Jake Little won the Crate Late Model feature. ... Tri-City’s season wraps up Oct. 20.
On the move: Thursday's winner Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, Ill., rallied from 21st to finish ninth.
Winner's sponsors: Birkhofer's Black Diamond Chassis is sponsored by Arnie Ranta Motorsports, Rauen Precision Machining, Lucas Oil, Tegerler Wrecker & Crane and Xtreme Graphics.
Points chase: Michael Kloos of Trenton, Ill., is Tri-City's Late Model champion.
Car count: 23
Fast qualifier: Gordy Gundaker
Time: 15.129 seconds
Polesitter: Jason Feger
Heat race winners: Jason Feger, Brian Birkhofer, Gordy Gundaker
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Feger, Birkhofer
Row 2: Gundaker, Simpson
Row 3: Frankel, Shirley
Row 4: Dacus, Manville
Row 5: Robinson, Weisser
Row 6: Klein, Alexander
Row 7: Diveley, Martin
Row 8: Roider, Griffaw
Row 9: Rumble, Hammerle
Row 10: Laycock, Jacober
Row 11: Babb, Bailey
Row 12: Burgtorf

Sponsor 1177
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information