Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1235
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/24/2022 21:31:17

Sponsor 743
September 23
La Salle Speedway,
La Salle, IL
Sanction: DIRTcar Racing (non-touring) (Bill Waite Jr. Memorial Classic) - $5,000
Information provided by: Patrick Davis (last updated September 24, 12:24 pm)
Shirley captures La Salle's Waite Memorial
Bill Waite Jr. Memorial Classic
  1. Brian Shirley
  2. Chris Simpson
  3. Billy Drake
  4. Allen Weisser
  5. Jason Feger
  6. Rich Bell
  7. Shannon Babb
  8. Kevin Weaver
  9. Scott Schmitt
  10. Mike Spatola
  11. Rob Toland
  12. Bob Gardner
  13. Jeff Curl
  14. Mitch McGrath
  15. Paul Parker
  16. Dave Eckrich
  17. John Provenzano
  18. Mike Provenzano
  19. Brad Eitniear
  20. Mike Mataragas
presented by
Jim DenHamer
Brian Shirley visits victory lane at La Salle (Ill.) Speedway.
What won the race: Polesitter Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., led all 40 laps of Sunday's Bill Waite Jr. Memorial Classic at La Salle Speedway for a $5,000 victory. Shirley took the checkers a half-straightaway ahead of Chris Simpson with Billy Drake in third.
Quotable: "Definitely the bottom was the better place to be for me," winner Brian Shirley said, "and when we got to lapped traffic, it was a little rough because obviously (slower cars) were there and they were racing side-by-side. We just had to be a little patient and know where we were."
Key notes: Shirley scored his second home-state victory of the weeked; he also earned $5,000 one night earlier at Peoria Speedway's Illinois State Championship. ... The top three held their spots all race long. ... Shirley kept lapped cars between his No. 3s and runner-up Chris Simpson most of the way. ... Paul Parker spun on the first lap to draw a caution. ... Nine drivers finished on the lead lap.
On the move: Allen Weisser of Peoria, Ill., started 10th and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Shirley’s Bob Cullen Racing Rocket Chassis is powered by an Andy Durham Racing Engine and sponsored by Thomason Express, Cheap Cars, KBX Graphix, Kid’s Castle Learning Center, Skateland South, Jayco Construction, Kim's Autobody, Vallejo and Popejoy.
Points chase: Rusty Schlenk of McClure, Ohio, leads weekly DIRTcar points.
Car count: 35
Fast qualifier: Brian Shirley
Time: 14.296 seconds
Polesitter: Brian Shirley
Heat race winners: Brian Shirley, Chris Simpson, Billy Drake, Jason Feger
Consolation race winners: Paul Parker, Brad Eitniear
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728