Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/26/2020 08:26:19

Sponsor 743
September 22
Peoria Speedway,
Peoria, IL
Sanction: DIRTcar Racing (non-touring) (Illinois State Championship) - $5,000
Information provided by: Track reports (last updated September 23, 7:16 am)
Shirley claims first Illinois State Championship
Illinois State Championship
  1. Brian Shirley
  2. Billy Drake
  3. Jason Feger
  4. Allen Weisser
  5. Mike Spatola
  6. Kevin Weaver
  7. Bob Gardner
  8. Wes Steidinger
  9. Matt Shannon
  10. Donny Walden
  11. Roger Rebholz
  12. Russ Adams
  13. Ryan Unzicker
  14. John Gardner Jr.
  15. Todd Bennett
  16. Jake Miller
  17. Mike Provenzano
  18. Jay Sparks
  19. Rob Toland
  20. Bill Kettering Jr.
  21. Charley Hess
  22. Robbie Bauman Jr.
presented by
Brendon Bauman/brendonbauman.com
Brian Shirley climbs out of his car after capturing the 64th annual Illinois State Championship at Peoria Speedway.
What won the race: Adding another flourish to his strong 2018 campaign, Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., captured Saturday's 64th annual Illinois State Championship at Peoria Speedway. The reigning DIRTcar Summer Nationals titlist advanced from the fourth starting spot to pocket a $5,000 prize for winning the long-running 100-lap DIRTcar-sanctioned Late Model feature for the first time in his career.
Quotable: "We did everything right, (the crew) did everything right to let me know where we needed to be, and we had a good race car," winner Brian Shirley said.
Key notes: Shirley became the 38th different winner of Peoria's marquee race, which began in 1952. ... Billy Drake chased Shirley under the checkered flag, finishing in the runner-up spot for the second consecutive year. ... With Shirley's triumph, Illinois drivers have won 58 of the 64 Illinois State Championships. ... Allen Weisser, who started on the pole of the Late Model feature and finished fourth, won the modified feature. ... Weiss, who led early in the Late Model main, spun on the backstretch shortly after losing the lead to Shiriley but rallied back to the top five. ... Ryan Unzicker contended early but fell from contention.
On the move: Russ Adams of Princeville, Ill., started 22nd and finished 12th.
Winner's sponsors: Shirley’s Bob Cullen Racing Rocket Chassis is powered by an Andy Durham Racing Engine and sponsored by Thomason Express, Cheap Cars, KBX Graphix, Kid’s Castle Learning Center, Skateland South, Jayco Construction, Kim's Autobody, Vallejo and Popejoy.
Points chase: Matt Shannon of Bartonville, Ill., wrapped up the track championship.
Car count: 29
Fast qualifier: Brian Shirley
Time: 12.516 seconds
Polesitter: Allen Weisser
Heat race winners: Brian Shirley, Allen Weisser, Jason Feger
Consolation race winners: Charley Hess
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Weisser, Unzicker
Row 2: Drake, Shirley
Row 3: Feger, Shannon
Row 4: Gardner, Weaver
Row 5: Spatola, Steidinger
Row 6: Sparks, Gardner Jr. 
Row 7: Rebholz, Walden
Row 8: Bennett, Hess
Row 9: Toland, Provenzano
Row 10: Kettering, Miller
Row 11: R. Bauman, Adams

Sponsor 263
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728