Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1010
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/22/2020 17:13:52

Sponsor 743
September 15
Wilmot Raceway,
Wilmot, WI
Sanction: DiscountShopTowels.com Dirt Kings Tour (Jim "Wildman" Watson Classic) - $2,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated September 16, 12:03 pm)
Back-to-back McGrath captures Wildman Classic
Jim "Wildman" Watson Classic
  1. Mitch McGrath
  2. Ron Berna
  3. Brett Swedberg
  4. Taylor Scheffler
  5. Jared Siefert
  6. Mark Rose
  7. Jim Schmidt
  8. Justin Schmidt
  9. Chris Engels
  10. Joe Bongiorno
  11. Jim Letizia
  12. Bill Rezutek
  13. Tim Buhler
  14. Rick Scheffler
  15. Ron Stroika
  16. Danny Pataska
  17. Turk Letizia
  18. Greg Cantrell
  19. Randy Manos Jr.
  20. Troy Springborn
presented by
What won the race: Polesitter Mitch McGrath of Waukesha, Wis., led 29 of 30 laps of Saturday's inaugural Jim "Wildman" Watson Classic at Wilmot Raceway for his second straight victory on the DiscountShopTowels.com Dirt Kings Tour. McGrath earned $2,000 for his third career series victory as Ron Berna, who led the first lap after starting fourth, finished second.
Key notes: McGrath won a week earlier at Plymouth, Wis. ... The race honored the late Wisconsin racer who frequented Wilmot and Hales Corner speedways. Watson, who was a member of Martin Truex Jr.’s 2017 NASCAR championship team, passed away earlier this year. … Allied Resource Recovery was the presenting sponsor. ... The trophy was designed by John Burnside and Brittany Watson, Jim Watson's daughter, was in victory lane. ... Mark Rose was awarded a QuarterMaster bellhousing kit in a random draw of top-10 finishers. ... Wilmot's season is complete.
On the move: Taylor Scheffler of Waukesha, Wis., started 17th and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: McGrath's Rocket Chassis has a Pro Power Racing Engine and is sponsored by Sorce Industries, Johnny Manhattan's, Matco Tools, ML Performance, Suburban Drywall and Behling Racing Equipment.
Points chase: Entering the event, Nick Anvelink (432) of Navarino, Wis., led Brett Swedberg (350), Ron Berna (336), Jim Schmidt (334), Jared Siefert (320) and Justin Schmidt (320) in Dirt Kings points.
Car count: 23
Heat race winners: Turk Letizia, Ron Berna, Mitch McGrath
Consolation race winners: Taylor Scheffler
Next series race: September 27, 141 Speedway (Francis Creek, WI) $1,250
Editor's note: Corrects winning purse to $2,000 sted $1,250.

Feature lineup

Row 1: McGrath, T. Letizia
Row 2: Rose, Berna
Row 3: Ji. Schmidt, R. Scheffler
Row 4: Swedberg, Buhler
Row 5: Stroika, Siefert
Row 6: J. Letizia, Cantrell Jr.
Row 7: Engels, Rezutek
Row 8: Manos, Pataska
Row 9: T. Scheffler, Springborn
Row 10: Bongiornio, Ju. Schmidt

Sponsor 774
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728