Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/07/2022 10:02:47

Sponsor 743
September 15
Berlin Raceway,
Marne, MI
Sanction: American Ethanol Late Model Tour (DIRTcar) (YellowHose.com 40) - $4,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated September 16, 5:48 am)
Van Wormer seizes opportunity for Berlin victory
YellowHose.com 40
  1. Jeep Van Wormer
  2. Travis Stemler
  3. Brandon Thirlby
  4. Logan Arntz
  5. Rich Neiser
  6. Jared Guinn
  7. Bill Bray
  8. Greg Gokey
  9. Dona Marcoullier
  10. Eric Spangler
  11. Rich Bell
  12. Phil Ausra
  13. Shannon Fisk
  14. Ryan VanderVeen
  15. Blake Spencer
  16. Michael Luberda Jr.
  17. Jason Playter Jr.
  18. Timmy Near
  19. Chad Finley
  20. Nick Kurtz
  21. David Mielke
presented by
Jim DenHamer
Jeep Van Wormer improved 15 positions to grab the $4,000 victory.
What won the race: After trouble for both front-row starters, Jeep Van Wormer of Pinconning, Mich., led the final 10 laps Saturday at Berlin Raceway for a $4,000 American Ethanol Late Model Tour victory. Polesitter Rich Bell hit the turn-three wall shortly after overtaking Dona Marcoullier, who was out front when a flat right-rear tire knocked him from contention. Travis Stemler finished second amid the rugged conditions of Berlin's dirt-covered asphalt.
Quotable: "It's dusty and it's really rough and you're just trying to stay clean out there ... and keep all the tires on the ground," winner Jeep Van Wormer said. "There was a pretty nice hole coming out of four, and right there at the start I was off the ground quite a few time. Just tried to miss that and keep (the car) rubber side down, for sure."
Key notes: Van Wormer has two career Ethanol Tour victories, both at Berlin. ... Dona Marcoullier of Houghton Lake, Mich., who led most of the way, was piloting his own Club 29 entry after a recent split with Doug Finley Motorsports. ... Ethanol Tour competitors return to Berlin each of the next two Saturdays.
On the move: Winner Jeep Van Wormer started 16th.
Winner's sponsors: Van Wormer’s Rocket Chassis is powered by a Jay Dickens Racing Engine and is sponsored by Brucebuilt Performance, Bayline Fire Protection, Knochel Oil Company, Van Wormer Management, Allstar Performance, Integra Shocks, Services on Site, Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil, Keyser’s Port City Racing, VP Racing Fuels and Joe’s Racing Products.
Points chase: Entering the event, Brandon Thirlby (675) of Traverse City, Mich., led Eric Spangler (619), Travis Stemler (585), David Mielke (557) and Nick Kurtz (537).
Car count: 28
Heat race winners: Travis Stemler, Greg Gokey, Rich Bell
Consolation race winners: Jeep Van Wormer
Next series race: July 5, Merritt Speedway (Lake City, MI) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Bell, Marcoullier
Row 2: Stemler, Thirlby
Row 3: Spangler, Kurtz
Row 4: VanderVeen, Finley
Row 5: Gokey, Ausra
Row 6: Neiser, Artnz
Row 7: Bray, Fisk
Row 8: Spencer, Van Wormer
Row 9: Playter Jr., Near
Row 10: Guinn, Luberda
Row 11: Mielke

Sponsor 1177
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728