Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/07/2022 14:14:23

Sponsor 743
July 12
Pittsburgh Pa. Motor Speedway,
Imperial, PA
Sanction: Pace Performance RUSH Racing Series - $1,500
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated July 13, 3:29 pm)
Montgomery earns first RUSH victory of 2014
  1. Ryan Montgomery
  2. Andrew Wylie
  3. Russ Kolesar
  4. Nico Dabecco
  5. Chad McClellan
  6. Justin Lamb
  7. Josh Holtgraver
  8. Daryl Charlier
  9. Mark Moats Jr.
  10. Jason Rider
  11. Corey McPherson
  12. John Waters
  13. Ralph Morgan Jr.
  14. Chuck Medved
  15. Laura Pastorak
  16. W.L. Stile
  17. Brian Goebel
  18. Jeremy Adamik
  19. Joe Martin
  20. Tommy Schirnhofer Jr.
  21. Mike Reft
  22. Jake Gunn
  23. Steve Beatty
  24. Kyle Lukon
  25. Ben Policz
  26. Cody Dawson
presented by
Todd Battin
Ryan Montgomery heads for victory at Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway.
What won the race: Series points leader Ryan Montgomery of Fairmont, W.Va., extended his margin atop the standings in pocketing $1,500 for his first RUSH Dirt Late Model Series victory of 2014. Montgomery started on the pole and ran away from the field in the 25-lap main event, winning by over three seconds.
Quotable: "We are always good when we come," Montgomery said. "We like coming here and it's awesome racetrack. I've run second so many times this year, but we're in the points lead and we're points racing so seconds are good too, but firsts are what you always want to have."
Key notes: Montgomery has won five of his last six starts at PPMS. ... Second-starting Corey McPherson spun in turn two on the 12th lap to bring out the race's first caution. ... Ben Policz tagged the turn one fence and nearly rolled on lap 13. ... Jake Gunn spun to collect Steve Beatty, Tommy Schirnhofer Jr., and W.L. Stile for the final yellow on lap 15. ... The program suffered a lengthy delay before the features due to issues with the frontstretch lighting. ... The event drew a season-high 37 cars for the tour. ... Montgomery previously scored a pair of weekly RUSH victory at PPMS in 2014 and also swept the tour's action at the track during the 2013 Pittsburgher 100 weekend. ... Keith Barbara of South Park, Pa., stormed from eighth to the lead on the opening lap and went on to win the Super Late Model feature. ... Eric Wilson of Cortland, Ohio, dominated the non-qualifiers' race for RUSH competitors. ... Rob Marhefka won a giveaway for a free GM 604 engine compliments of Sweeney Chevrolet Buick GMC and Pace Performance.
On the move: Nico Dabecco rallied from 14th to fourth; Chad McClellan improved from 11th to fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Montgomery's No. 12 Warrior Race Car is sponsored by Bobby Lake Motorsports, Central Supply Co, Genesis Racing Shocks, High Gear Speed Shop, Hoosier Racing Tire, Mountain State Plumbing, SBC Trucking, T.J. Contracting & Custom Homes and VP Racing Fuels.
Points chase: Montgomery entered Saturday's action with 654 points to lead Chad McClellan (612 points), Cody Dawson (606), John Waters (604) and Jason Rider (600).
Car count: 37
Polesitter: Ryan Montgomery
Dash winner: John Waters
Heat race winners: Ryan Montgomery, Justin Lamb, Ben Policz, Andrew Wylie
Consolation race winners: Joe Martin, Daryl Charlier
Provisional starters: Cody Dawson, Brian Goebel
Next series race: July 20, Humberstone Speedway (Port Colborne, ON) $2,000
Editor's note: Fixes polesitter to Montgomery sted Waters.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728