Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/07/2022 11:46:48

Sponsor 743
September 2
Hibbing Raceway,
Hibbing, MN
Sanction: Structural Buildings WISSOTA Challenge Series (Labor Day Shootout) - $3,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated September 3, 7:49 am)
Doar outruns hometowner in Hibbing finale
Labor Day Shootout
  1. Pat Doar
  2. Jeff Provinzino
  3. Darrell Nelson
  4. Zach Wohlers
  5. Marshall Fegers
  6. Ben Hanke
  7. Jake Redetzke
  8. Lance Matthees
  9. Derek Vesel
  10. Kevin Carlson
  11. Steve Laursen
  12. Kyle Peterlin
  13. Buddy Hanestad
  14. Terry Lillo
  15. Tim Carlson
  16. John Toppozini
  17. Cole Provinzino
  18. Chris Lillo
  19. Mark Heinle
  20. John Meeds
  21. Gregg Hill
  22. Jeffrey Massingill
  23. John Kaanta
  24. James Giossi
  25. David Esse
  26. Jay Kintner
presented by
What won the race: Denying Jeff Provinzino a hometown victory, Pat Doar of New Richmond, Wis., raced to a $3,000 triumph in Sunday's 30-lap Wollak Construction WISSOTA Challenge Series Labor Day Shootout at Hibbing Raceway. Doar clinched his fifth career series title.
Key notes: Doar, who started outside of Provinzino on the front row, registered his 30th career WCS victory, moving him within one triumph of the circuit's all-time winningest driver, John Kaanta of Elk Mound, Wis., who ended his first weekend back in action following seven weeks off for a broken leg with a 23rd-place finish. ... Doar, whose last WCS victory came on Aug. 7, 2014, at Norman County Raceway in Ada, Minn., previously won WCS events at Hibbing in Doar 2008 and '10; he is the only repeat winner in 13 overall series stops at the track. ... Hometown driver Kyle Peterlin finished 12th after capturing Saturday’s Labor Day Shootout opener. ... Twenty-one of the race's 26 starters were running at the finish. ... Hibbing's 40th Labor Day Shootout doubleheader closed the tour's campaign.
On the move: Kyle Peterlin of Hibbing, Minn., started 26th and finished 12th.
Winner's sponsors: Doar’s Rocket Chassis is powered by a Vic Hill engine and carries sponsorship from Kivi Brothers Trucking, Polar Industries and Speedwerx Performance Exhaust.
Points chase: Doar clinched his fifth career WCS title; his previous crowns came in 1999, 2000, '04 and '05.
Car count: 26
Polesitter: Jeff Provinzino
Heat race winners: Jake Redetzke, Darrell Nelson, Derek Vesel
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: J. Provinzino, Doar
Row 2: Hanke, Redetzke
Row 3: Vessel, Nelson
Row 4: Kaanta, Fevers
Row 5: Wohlers, C. Provinzino
Row 6: Matthees, Giossi
Row 7: Kintner, Hanestad
Row 8: T. Lillo, Carlton
Row 9: Meeds, Carlson
Row 10: Laursen, Toppozini
Row 11: C. Lillo, Hill
Row 12: Esse, Heinle
Row 13: Massingill, Peterlin
Sponsor 1177
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728