Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/19/2020 00:24:55

Sponsor 743
September 1
Lancaster Speedway,
Lancaster, SC
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series - $4,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated September 2, 7:57 am)
Mitchell dominates Clash stop at Lancaster
  1. Zack Mitchell
  2. Ross Bailes
  3. Jeff Smith
  4. Michael Brown
  5. Jonathan Edwards
  6. Anthony Sanders
  7. Jimmy McNamara
  8. Adam Yarbrough
  9. Doug Sanders
  10. Mark Dysart
  11. Chuck Smith
  12. David Yandle
  13. Ben Watkins
  14. Johnny Pursley
  15. Larry Grube
  16. Reid Windham
  17. Mike Huey
  18. Kevin Godwin
  19. Mac Huey
  20. Dennis Franklin
  21. Jason Burroughs
presented by
What won the race: Dominating action from the drop of the green, Zack Mitchell of Enoree, S.C., drove to a convincing victory in Saturday’s Carolina Clash race at Lancaster Speedway. Mitchell pulled away from the field following a caution on lap 16 and finished 10 seconds ahead of runner-up Ross Bailes.
Quotable: "We've just got a good piece right now. The race car's good and balanced," Mitchell said, thanking his supporters and sponsors in vicotry lane. "I knew he had a pretty good race car. I wasn't going to get too confident with it. I was just kind of biding my time and keep it up under me and hit my marks every lap. I was just hoping to be standing right here."
Key notes: Eleven of the 21 starters finished; six completed 40 laps. … Ross Bailes moved into second on the restart of the lap 16 caution. ... His runner-up finish helped the series points leader shake a stretch of bad luck he’s had since taking a seat in the G.R. Smith-owned No. 22. .... Dennis Franklin finished 20th after completing only two laps, snapping a string of three straight third-or-better finishes. … It was the first of a weekend doubleheader for the series, which shifts to Cherokee Speedway on Sunday.
Winner's sponsors: Mitchell’s Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and sponsored by Eubanks Oil, Clary Hood Inc., Millwood Plumbing, Hi-Bridge Automotive, Charles West Grading, Mechanical Edge, FK Rod Ends and Big A's Custom Graphics.
Points chase: Before Lancaster, Ross Bailes (888) of Clover, S.C., led Adam Yarbrough (861), Dennis Franklin (844), David Yandle (794) and Doug Sanders (784).
Car count: 23
Fast qualifier: Zack Mitchell
Time: 19.114 seconds
Next series race: September 2, Cherokee Speedway (Gaffney, SC) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728