Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/07/2022 11:32:39

Sponsor 743
August 11
Enid Speedway,
Enid, OK
Sanction: Sooner Late Model Series - $750
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated August 12, 3:34 pm)
Hughes picks up hometown Sooner victory
  1. Kip Hughes
  2. Brandon Givens
  3. Damian Patocka
  4. Sloppy Hogg
  5. Jeremy Bishop
  6. Mark Harrison
  7. Joe Gorby
  8. Eddie Tidwell
  9. Kyle Sweeney
  10. Adam Popp
  11. Steve Hawkins
  12. Wesley Kreckerberg
  13. Wayne Bush
  14. Eric Brill
  15. Hayden Ross
presented by
What won the race: Taking the lead on lap three, Kip Hughes of Enid, Okla., led the final 22 laps to win his third Sooner Late Model Series feature of the season and fourth of his career. Hughes’s victory at the track he co-promotes, paid $750. Brandon Givens finished second, while Damian Patocka finished third.
Quotable: “Last weekend at Hutchinson we tried some stuff and we hit on something,” said Hughes. “It suits my driving style now and is so easy to drive now anyone could come out of the stands and drive this thing. I think I could have (ran any groove), but the bottom was so good I never got off of it. We are happy. Moving forward now I think we hit on something and can pick us off some more (wins).”
Key notes: Hughes won utilizing a Crate engine. … Eric Brill grabbed the lead on the opening lap, but crashed into the wall in turn three while racing Sloppy Hogg for the lead. He was unable to continue and finished 14th. … Hogg restarted at the front, but gave way to Hughes almost immediately. … Hughes pulled away, catching lapped traffic on lap 12 and winning by a straightaway. … Hogg maintained second until Brandon Givens passed on lap 16. … Hughes previously won on the tour at Southern Oklahoma Speedway in Ardmore and Oklahoma Sports Park in Ada. … Hughes co-promotes Enid Speedway with Mark Brill. … Three drivers — Jason Redman, Andy McElfresh and Cliff Morrow — scratched from the main event.
Winner's sponsors: Hughes drives the Marker Motorsports No. 4 sponsored by Hot Shot Power Washington, Enid Superlube and Fusion Custom Trailers.
Car count: 18
Heat race winners: Jason Redman, Kip Hughes, Eric Brill
Next series race: August 24, Oklahoma Sports Park (Ada, OK) $750
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728