Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/27/2022 06:21:47

Sponsor 743
August 11
Cherokee Speedway,
Gaffney, SC
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series (Stick Elliott Memorial) - $4,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated August 15, 10:28 am)
Mitchell captures $4,000 Stick Elliott Memorial
Stick Elliott Memorial
  1. Zack Mitchell
  2. Dennis Franklin
  3. Joey Coulter
  4. Johnny Pursley
  5. Justin Williams
  6. Brent Dixon
  7. Jeff Smith
  8. Adam Yarbrough
  9. Derrick Ramey
  10. John Henderson
  11. Mike Huey
  12. David Yandle
  13. Jimmy McNamara
  14. Ross Bailes
  15. Chicky Barton
  16. Anthony Sanders
  17. Doug Sanders
  18. Benji Hicks
  19. Kyle Pierce
  20. Bradly Silvers
  21. Brian Carswell
  22. Dwayne Joyce
  23. Mark Dysart
  24. Greg Clark
presented by
Amanda Lingerfelt
Zack Mitchell and his supporters celebrate at Cherokee Speedway.
What won the race: Surviving a bevy of cautions, Zack Mitchell of Enoree, S.C., won Saturday’s Stick Elliott Memorial at Cherokee Speedway. Mitchell reclaimed the lead from Ross Bailes when Bailes slowed with a flat tire. He then beat Dennis Franklin to the finish by 1.674 seconds to collect $4,000. Joey Coulter finished third.
Quotable: "I knew they were coming on the top there about halfway and I started to move up right before that, but I just didn't," winner Zack Mitchell said. "We got up there to the top and it just didn't seem like I was really that great on the top. I felt a lot better on the bottom. I was scared they was going to go around me on the outside, but we just held on to it. We led every lap and I can't ask for any more."
Key notes: Thirteen of the 24 starters finished the race with 12 completing all 40 laps. … Early race leader and last year’s Stick Elliott Memorial winner Ross Bailes suffered a flat tire that sent him to the tail. ... Mitchell regained the top spot he had just surrendered to Bailes and led the rest of the way. ... Mitchell pulled away over the final 10 green-flag laps. … There have been eight different winners in eight series races. … The series returns on Sept. 2 and Nov. 18.
On the move: Adam Yarbrough started 23rd and finished eighth.
Winner's sponsors: Mitchell’s Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by Eubanks Oil, Clary Hood Inc., Millwood Plumbing, Hi-Bridge Automotive, Charles West Grading, Mechanical Edge, FK Rod Ends and Big A's Custom Graphics.
Points chase: Ross Bailes (710) of Clover, S.C., leads Adam Yarbrough (647), David Yandle (618), Doug Sanders (616) and Dennis Franklin (614).
Car count: 30
Fast qualifier: Zack Mitchell
Time: 15.325 seconds
Heat race winners: Anthony Sanders, Doug Sanders
Next series race: September 1, Lancaster Speedway (Lancaster, SC) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Mitchell, Dixon
Row 2: Bailes, Hicks
Row 3: Franklin, Henderson Jr.
Row 4: Pursley, Pierce
Row 5: Coulter, Smith
Row 6: A. Sanders, Barton
Row 7: Carswell, Williams
Row 8: Clark, Dysart
Row 9: Ramey, Mac
Row 10: Yandle, Joyce
Row 11: Huey, Silvers
Row 12: Yarborough, D. Sanders

Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728