Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/27/2022 06:30:20

Sponsor 743
August 10
Tri-City Speedway,
Granite City, IL
Sanction: MARS Racing Series (Russ Wallace Memorial) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated August 11, 6:58 am)
Shirley continues Tri-City MARS mastery
Russ Wallace Memorial
  1. Brian Shirley
  2. Brandon Sheppard
  3. Ryan Unzicker
  4. Tanner English
  5. Tim Manville
  6. Daryn Klein
  7. Jose Parga
  8. Jason Feger
  9. Spencer Diercks
  10. Tony Jackson Jr.
  11. Billy Laycock
  12. Kolby Vandenbergh
  13. Raymond Merrill
  14. Dean Carpenter
  15. Myles Moos
  16. Michael Kloos
  17. Frank Heckenast Jr.
  18. Scott Crigler
  19. Billy Moyer
  20. Jeff Roth
  21. Gordy Gundaker
  22. Mark Voigt
presented by
Connor Hamilton
Brian Shirley scored his fifth MARS Racing Series victory.
What won the race: Third-starting Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., took the lead from Frank Heckenast Jr., on lap 16 and lead the rest of the race to win Friday’s Russ Wallace Memorial at Tri-City Speedway. Shirley finished a full straightaway ahead of seventh-starting Brandon Sheppard in claiming the $5,000 winner’s prize. Ryan Unzicker finished third.
Quotable: “I could see my guy signaling me. The car was real comfortable, so I was just sticking to my marks, trying to hit each lap the same and trying to keep (the car) underneath me the best I can,” said Shirley. “That was really it. I was just trying not to do anything crazy, because obviously he did say we had a sizable lead.”
Key notes: Fourteen cars finished the race, with 11 completing all 40 laps. … The win is Shirley's fifth MARS Series victory on the season. … Brandon Sheppard grabbed the runner-up position from Ryan Unzicker with six laps remaining. … Polesitter Frank Heckenast Jr., spun out of contention in turn two after surrendering the lead. He restarted at the tail of the field, but spun again in turn two on lap 23 and retired. He finished 17th after leading the first 16 laps. … Gordy Gundaker brought out the first caution on lap five and pulled into the infield. He finished 21st. … Billy Moyer Jr., last week’s $10,000 MARS winner at Brownstown (Ind.) Speedway, broke a driveshaft while leading his heat and failed to make the main event. ... Both Jason Feger and Spencer Dierks advanced from the B-Main to score a top-10 finish. … This was the seventh annual Russ Wallace Memorial.
On the move: Spencer Diercks of Davenport, Iowa, started 19th and finished ninth.
Winner's sponsors: Shirley’s Bob Cullen Racing Rocket Chassis is powered by an Andy Durham Racing Engine and sponsored by Thomason Express, Cheap Cars, KBX Graphix, Kid’s Castle Learning Center, Skateland South, Jayco Construction, Kim's Autobody, Vallejo and Popejoy.
Points chase: Entering the weekend, Tanner English (1,783) of Benton, Ky., leads Tim Manville (1,729), Dean Carpenter (1,675), Caleb Ashby (1,319) and Michael Kloos (1,021).
Car count: 29
Fast qualifier: Frank Heckenast Jr.
Time: 14.482 seconds
Polesitter: Frank Heckenast Jr.
Heat race winners: Frank Heckenast Jr., Daryn Klein, Brian Shirley
Consolation race winners: Kolby Vandenbergh
Next series race: August 11, Fairbury American Legion Speedway (Fairbury, IL) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Heckenast Jr., Klein
Row 2: Shirley, Gundaker
Row 3: Merrill, Unzicker
Row 4: Sheppard, Kloos
Row 5: Moyer, English
Row 6: Manville, Crigler
Row 7: Parga, Moos
Row 8: Laycock, Vandenbergh
Row 9: Feger, Jackson Jr.
Row 10: Dierks, Carpenter
Row 11: Roth, Voigt

Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728