Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1264
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/28/2023 02:04:07

Sponsor 743
August 3
Bloomington Speedway,
Bloomington, IN
Sanction: MARS Racing Series (Hoosier State Hall of Fame Weekend) - $3,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated August 4, 5:58 am)
Robinson outruns English in Bloomington thriller
Hoosier State Hall of Fame Weekend
  1. Kent Robinson
  2. Tanner English
  3. Michael Kloos
  4. Billy Moyer Jr.
  5. Nick Hoffman
  6. Devin Gilpin
  7. Tim Manville
  8. Adam Bowman
  9. Dean Carpenter
  10. Brad Barrow
  11. Raymond Humphrey
  12. Jared Bailey
  13. Randy Roth
  14. Derek Bottoms
  15. Robert Tincher
  16. Keegan Cox
  17. John Clippinger
  18. Karlie Holt
  19. Jeff Roth
  20. Joey Standridge
  21. Nathan Bunch
presented by
Mark Schaefer/schaefer11.smugmug.com
Kent Robinson shows off his paycheck for his hometown victory.
What won the race: Winning a late-race duel with polesitter Tanner English, Kent Robinson of Bloomington, Ind., notched his second career MARS Racing Series victory. Robinson held off English on a restart with two laps remaining to claim a $3,000 win Friday at his home track. Michael Kloos finished third.
Quotable: “It’s hard to even put into words what (the win) means to me and my whole family,” said Robinson. “Love coming here … had a lot of good memories (in) modifieds, street stocks, everything growing up considering it is my home track. I’m pretty fortunate I’ve got a lot of laps around here, ‘cause running the bottom like that is just tough.”
Key notes: Bloomington hosted the MARS Series for the first time in a rare appearance by Late Models at the quarter-mile oval. … Tanner English and Kent Robinson swapped the lead over the final 10 laps, with Robinson grabbing the top spot for good when English slipped over the cushion in turn four with four laps remaining. … Devin Gilpin grabbed the lead on a restart before the halfway mark, but eventually slipped back to sixth. … Billy Moyer Jr., lost about eight positions when he jumped the cushion in turn two on a restart, but rallied back to finish fourth. … Robinson, who won his second straight MARS Series feature, had never competed in a Late Model at his home track. … Robinson’s previous series win was July 7 at Brownstown (Ind.) Speedway. … The race was co-sanctioned by the Kentucky-based Schaeffer’s Iron-Man Series. … Bloomington hosted its first Super Late Model race since May 11, 2007 when Wes Steidinger of Fairbury, Ill., won a Northern Allstars Late Model Series event. … It was the opener of a weekend doubleheader and the first of four MARS races in August.
Winner's sponsors: Robinson’s MB Customs car is powered by a Jay Dickens Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from J.B.’s Salvage, J.B.’s Disposal Service, Keyser Manufacturing, Jones Oil Company, Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuels and Envy Suspension.
Points chase: Before Bloomington, Tanner English (1,391) of Benton, Ky., leads the MARS series over Tim Manville (1,357), Dean Carpenter (1,325), Caleb Ashby (1,319) and Dennis Erb Jr. (962).
Car count: 22
Fast qualifier: Tanner English
Time: 11.475 seconds
Polesitter: Tanner English
Heat race winners: Tanner English, Nick Hoffman, Kent Robinson
Next series race: August 4, Brownstown Speedway (Brownstown, IN) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: English, Hoffman
Row 2: Robinson, Gilpin
Row 3: Moyer Jr., Manville
Row 4: Bowman, Clippenger
Row 5: Kloos, Carpenter
Row 6: J. Roth, Humphrey
Row 7: MIles, Barrow
Row 8: Bailey, Bottoms
Row 9: Standridge, R. Roth
Row 10: Bunch, Cox
Row 11: Tincher, Holt

Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information