Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/02/2022 07:04:43

Sponsor 743
July 27
Lakeside Speedway,
Kansas City, KS
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (Clyde Ellis Memorial) - $3,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated July 28, 1:18 pm)
Phillips victorious in Lakeside's MLRA stop
Clyde Ellis Memorial
  1. Terry Phillips
  2. Will Vaught
  3. Logan Martin
  4. Justin Zeitner
  5. Payton Looney
  6. J.C. Wyman
  7. Chris Spieker
  8. Mitch McGrath
  9. Austin Siebert
  10. Jeremy Grady
  11. Raymond Merrill
  12. Jeff Roth
  13. Randy Roth
  14. Tony Jackson Jr.
  15. Jake Neal
  16. Cole Wells
  17. Chad Simpson
  18. Todd Shute
presented by
Todd Boyd/photosbyboyd.smugmug.com
Terry Phillips captured the Clyde Ellis Memorial at Lakeside.
What won the race: Overtaking Will Vaught on the final lap, third-starting Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., picked up his career-leading 116th Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association victory Friday at Lakeside Speedway. Phillips captured the Clyde Ellis Memorial and earn a $3,000 payday. Polesitter Logan Martin, who won at Lakeside last season, finished third.
Quotable: "I got beside him there and about hit in lap traffic and kinda slid the tires. I started overdriving and had to slow down and bide my time," Phillips said. "My radio quit working, I didn't know for sure if I'd won. I seen flags waving but I couldn't tell, it's been so long since I've won a damn race!"
Key notes: Phillips, who edged ahead of Vaught briefly with 13 laps remaining, lapped up to fifth place and finished six-tenths of a second ahead of Will Vaught for his eighth career MLRA victory at Lakeside. … Phillips and Vaught pulled away from the rest of the field. Phillips was nearly nine seconds ahead of third-place Logan Martin at the finish. … The win was the first of the year for Phillips on the MLRA tour and first since Aug. 12, 2017 at Junction Motor Speedway in McCool Junction, Neb. … Vaught now has two victories, a runner up and a fourth-place finish during the month of July. … Series points leader Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, finished 17th after completing just four laps. … Tony Jackson Jr. retired late with rear-end problems. ... Joe Godsey scratched from the main event.
On the move: Payton Looney of Republic, Mo., started 17th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Phillips drives a Black Diamond Chassis with an Andy Durham Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from Andy's Frozen Custard, Mesilla Valley Transportation, Don Babb Motorsports, New Vision Graphics, Integra Shocks, Keyser Mfg., Peterson Fluid Systems, Performance Bodies and Midwest Sheet Metal.
Points chase: Chad Simpson (1,232) of Mount Vernon, Iowa, leads Tony Jackson Jr. (1,170), Will Vaught (1,156), Payton Looney (1,043) and Mitch McGrath (1,032).
Car count: 19
Polesitter: Logan Martin
Heat race winners: Will Vaught, Terry Phillips
Next series race: August 31, Lee County Speedway (Donnellson, IA) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Martin, Vaught
Row 2: Phillips, Zeitner
Row 3: Grady, Spieker
Row 4: Wyman, McGrath
Row 5: Simpson, Siebert
Row 6: Jackson Jr., Neal
Row 7: Merrill, Wells
Row 8: R. Roth, J. Roth
Row 9: Looney, Schute
Row 10: Godsey

Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728