Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/26/2022 18:13:07

Sponsor 743
July 27
I-96 Speedway,
Lake Odessa, MI
Sanction: American Ethanol Late Model Tour (DIRTcar) (YellowHose.com 40) - $4,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated July 28, 1:18 pm)
Schlenk tops Thirlby for I-96 Ethanol win
YellowHose.com 40
  1. Rusty Schlenk
  2. Brandon Thirlby
  3. Nick Kurtz
  4. Travis Stemler
  5. David Mielke
  6. Eric Spangler
  7. Rich Bell
  8. Dona Marcoullier
  9. Casey Noonan
  10. Logan Arntz
  11. Phil Ausra
  12. Ryan VanderVeen
  13. Scott Fisk
  14. Matt Shipley
  15. Bry Johnson
  16. Brad Mann
  17. Rich Neiser
  18. Shawn Reed Jr.
  19. Kevin Reeve
  20. Gregg Haskell
  21. Greg Gokey
  22. Jeff Robertson
presented by
Jim DenHamer
Rusty Schlenk shows off his paycheck at I-96 Speedway.
What won the race: Advancing from his fourth starting position, Rusty Schlenk of McClure, Ohio, raced to victory in Friday’s YellowHose.com 40 at I-96 Speedway. Schlenk outran Brandon Thirlby for a $4,000 victory.
Quotable: "I gotta thank all my guys. We were up on vacation this week. I haven't even been home in a week. These guys put this car together and got it all back together and put a body on it and had it ready for me," winner Rusty Schlenk said of his crew. "(Michigan's Upper Peninsula) doesn't have much for cell service up there, so I didn't have communication with anybody. Thanks God these guys, they busted their butts all week long, turned this car around, put a new body on it, and had it in tip-top shape tonight. So thanks to all my guys."
Key notes: Schlenk finished 1.313 seconds ahead of Thirlby. … Twelve drivers completed 40 laps. … Polesitter Scott Fisk finished one lap down in 13th. … Series champion Dona Marcoullier of Houghton Lake, Mich., charged to eighth place after winning the consolation race and starting 16th. … The race co-sanctioned by American Ethanol Late Model Tour and the Sunoco American Late Model Series. … Schlenk registered his 26th ALMS win and sixth Ethanol win. … There have been five different in eight series races.
Winner's sponsors: Schlenk’s C.J. Rayburn Race Car is powered by an ECR Engine and sponsored by Buckeye Concrete Coatings, Dominator Race Products, Allstar Performance and Velocita.
Points chase: Eric Spangler (469) leads the Ethanol tour over Brandon Thirlby (453), Nick Kurtz (429), David Mielke (405) and Travis Stemler; Casey Noonan leads the ALMS standings ahead of Jon Henry, Devin Gilpin, Stemler and Matt Miller.
Car count: 30
Polesitter: Scott Fisk
Heat race winners: Scott Fisk, Rusty Schlenk, Eric Spangler
Consolation race winners: Dona Marcoullier
Next series race: August 17, Wilmot Raceway (Wilmot, WI) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Fisk, Stemler
Row 2: Shipley, Schlenk
Row 3: Kurtz, Spangler
Row 4: Thirlby, Noonan
Row 5: Bell, Reed
Row 6: Reeve, Mielke
Row 7: Ausra, Johnson
Row 8: Arntz, Marcoullier
Row 9: Neiser, VanderVeen
Row 10: Gokey, Mann
Row 11: Haskell, Robertson

Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728